Resource of General Knowledge, Current Affairs, GK Quizzes and Career News

General Knowledge Guide

» General Knowledge » Awards and Honors » List of Miss World Winners by Year

List of Miss World Winners by Year

The pageant is the oldest surviving major international beauty pageant. It was created in the United Kingdom by Eric Morley in 1951. Since his death in 2000, Morley’s wife, Julia Morley, co-chairs the pageant.

Alongside its rival Miss Universe and Miss Earth contests, this pageant is one of the most publicised beauty contests in the world.

Year Miss World Winner Country
2013 Megan Young Philippines
2012 Yu Wenxia China
2011 Ivian Sarcos Venezuela
2010 Alexandria Mills United States
2009 Kaiane Aldorino Gibraltar
2008 Ksenia Sukhinova Russia
2007 Zhang Zilin China
2006 Taťána Kuchařová Czech Republic
2005 Unnur Birna Vilhjálmsdóttir Iceland
2004 María Julia Mantilla Peru
2003 Rosanna Davison Ireland
2002 Azra Akın Turkey
2001 Agbani Darego Nigeria
2000 Priyanka Chopra India
1999 Yukta Mookhey India
1998 Linor Abargil Israel
1997 Diana Hayden India
1996 Irene Skliva Greece
1995 Jacqueline Aguilera Venezuela
1994 Aishwarya Rai India
1993 Lisa Hanna Jamaica
1992 Julia Kourotchkina Russia
1991 Ninibeth Leal Venezuela
1990 Gina Tolleson United States
1989 Aneta Kręglicka Poland
1988 Linda Pétursdóttir Iceland
1987 Ulla Weigerstorfer Austria
1986 Giselle Laronde Trinidad & Tobago
1985 Hólmfríður Karlsdóttir Iceland
1984 Astrid Carolina Herrera Venezuela
1983 Sarah-Jane Hutt United Kingdom
1982 Mariasela Álvarez Dominican Republic
1981 Pilín León Venezuela
1980 Gabriella Brum (Resigned) West Germany
1980 Kimberley Santos (unknown) Guam
1979 Gina Swainson Bermuda
1978 Silvana Suárez Argentina
1977 Mary Stävin Sweden
1976 Cindy Breakspeare Jamaica
1975 Wilnelia Merced Puerto Rico
1974 Helen Morgan (Resigned) United Kingdom
1974 Anneline Kriel (unknown) South Africa
1973 Marjorie Wallace United States
1972 Belinda Green Australia
1971 Lúcia Petterle Brazil
1970 Jennifer Hosten Grenada
1969 Eva Rueber-Staier Austria
1968 Penelope Plummer Australia
1967 Madeline Hartog Bell Houghton Peru
1966 Reita Faria India
1965 Lesley Langley UNITED KINGDOM
1964 Ann Sidney United Kingdom
1963 Carole Joan Crawford Jamaica
1962 Catharina Johanna Lodders Netherlands
1961 Rosemarie Frankland United Kingdom
1960 Norma Gladys Cappagli Argentina
1959 Corine Rottschafer Netherlands
1958 Penelope Anne Coelen South Africa
1957 Marita Lindahl Finland
1956 Petra Susanna Schürmann Germany
1955 Carmen Susana Duijm Zubillaga Venezuela
1954 Antigone Constanda Egypt
1953 Denise Perrier France
1952 May Louise Flodin Sweden
1951 Kiki Haakonson Sweden


Photo Gallery of Miss World Winners

About Anju Rani

Anju Rani has written 81 post in this blog.

Write your comment here...

Please share your valuable feedback on this post/article/information because Your appreciation motivate us, Your feedback improve us. Thank you!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>