Resource of General Knowledge, Current Affairs, GK Quizzes and Career News

General Knowledge Guide

» General Knowledge » All Related to India » Presidents of Indian National Congress

Presidents of Indian National Congress

Presidents of Indian National Congress – Find the list of Congress Presidents with leadership years with candidate name.

Year Place Name of President
1885 Bombay W.C. Bonerjee
1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji
1887 Madras Badurddin Tyabji
1888 Allahabad George Yule
1889 Bombay Sir William Wedderburn
1890 Calcutta Sir Phirozshah Mehta
1891 Nagpur P. Ananda Charlu
1892 Allahabad W.C. Bonerjee
1893 Lahore Dadabhai Naoroji
1894 Madras Alfred Webb
1895 Poona S.N Banerjee
1896 Calcutta Rahimtulla Sayani
1897 Amravati Sir C.S.Nair
1898 Madras A. M. Bose
1899 Lucknow R.C.Dutt
1900 Lahore N.G. Chandravarkar
1901 Calcutta D.E. Wacha
1902 Ahmedabad S.N Banerjee
1903 Madras L.M. Ghosh
1904 Bombay Sir Henry Cotton
1905 Banaras G.K. Gokhala
1906 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji
1907 Surat Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh
1908 Madras Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh
1909 Lahore M. M. Malaviya
1910 Allahabad Sir William Wedderbum
1911 Calcutta B.N.Dhar
1912 Patna R.N. Madholkar
1913 Karachi Syed Mohammad Bahadur
1914 Madras Bhupendra Nath Basu
1915 Bombay Sir S.P. Sinha
1916 Lucknow A.C. Mazumdar
1917 Calcutta Mrs. Annie Besant
1918 ———— (Special Session Hassan Imam)
1918 Delhi (Annual Session ) M.M.Malaviya
1919 Amritsar Motilal Nehru
1920 Nagpur (Annual Session ) C.Vijayara-gavachariar
1921 Allahabad C.R.Das (In Prison) Acting President Hakim Ajmal Khan
1922 Gaya C.R.  Das
1923 ———– (Annual Session )Lajpat Rai
1923 Kakinada (Annual Session) Mohammed Ali
1924 Belgaum M.K. Gandhi
1925 Kanpur Mrs.Sarojini Naidu
1926 Gauhati S.Srinivasa lyengar
1927 Madras Dr. M.A. Ansari
1928 Calcutta Motilal Nehru
1929 Lahore Jawaharlal Nehru
1930 Karachi Jawaharlal Nehru
1931 ———– Vallabhbhai Patel
1932 ———— R.Amritlal
1933 Calcutta Mrs. Nellie Sen Gupta
1934 Bombay Rajendra Prasad
1935 Lucknow Rajendra Prasad
1936 ———- Jawaharlal Nehru
1937 Fazipur Jawaharlal Nehru
1938 Haripura Shubhsh Chandra Bose
1939 Tripura Shubhsh Chandra Bose (Subhas Chandra Bose Was re-elected but had to resign. Rajendra Prasad was apponted in his stead)
1940-1946 ———– Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad
1946(July-Sep.) ———- Jawaharlal Nehru
1946-1947 Meerut J.B. Kripalani
1948 Jaipur Pattabhi Sitaramaiah
1950 Nasik Purushotam Das Tandon
1951 Delhi Jawaharlal Nehru
1953 Hyderabad Jawaharlal Nehru
1954 Kalyan Jawaharlal Nehru
1955 Avadi U.N. Dhebar
1956 Amritsar U.N. Dhebar
1957 Indone U.N. Dhebar
1958 Pragyotish-pur U.N. Dhebar
1959 Nagpur U.N. Dhebar
1960 Bangalore Indira Ghandi
1961 Bhavnagare N.Sanjiva Reddy
1962 New Delhi D.Sanjivayya
1964 Bhubanesh-war K .Kamaraj
1965 Durgapur K .Kamaraj
1966 Jaipur K .Kamaraj
1968 Bangalore S.Nijalingappa
1969 New Delhi C.Subramaniam
1970 New Delhi Jagjivayya
1971 Ahmedabad D.Sanjivayya
1972 Calcutta Shankar Dayal Sharma
1975 Chandigarh D.K. Barooah
1976 New Delhi Brahmananda Reddy
1978 New Delhi Indira Ghandi
1983 Calcutta Indira Ghandi
1984 New Delhi Rajiv Gandhi
1985 Bombay Rajiv Gandhi
1991 New Delhi P.V. Narasimha Rao
1996 New Delhi Sitaram kesri
1998 New Delhi Sonia Gandhi

About Suresh

has written 330 post in this blog.

I am nothing but want to be.

Presidents of Indian National Congress
0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)

2 thoughts on “Presidents of Indian National Congress

Write your comment here...

Please share your valuable feedback on this post/article/information because Your appreciation motivate us, Your feedback improve us. Thank you!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>