Resource of General Knowledge, Current Affairs, GK Quizzes and Career News

General Knowledge Guide

» General Knowledge » Country and World » UN Secretaries General

UN Secretaries General

Below is the list of UN Secretaries General with detail like appointed year, secretary name and from nation. The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the head of the Secretariat, one of the principal organs of the United Nations. The Secretary-General also acts as the de facto spokesperson and leader of the United Nations.

Year Name Dates in office Nation
1945 Gladwyn Jebb 24 October 1945 – 1 February 1946 United Kingdom
1946 Trygve Lie 1 February 1946 – 10 November 1952 Norway
1953 Dag Hammarskjold 10 April 1953 – 18 September 1961 Sweden
1961 U Thant 30 November 1961 – 31 December 1971 Burma
1972 Kurt Waldheim 1 January 1972 – 31 December 1981 Austria
1982 Javier Peres De Cuellar 1 January 1982 – 31 December 1991 Peru
1992 Dr. Boutros Boutros Ghali 1 January 1992 – 31 December 1996 Egypt
1997 Kofi Annan 1 January 1997 – 31 December 2006 Ghana
2007 Ban-Ki-Moon 1 January 2007– present South Korea

The United Nations is unofficially divided into five geopolitical regional groupings. Depending on the UN context, regional groups control elections to UN-related positions, dividing up the pie on the basis of geographic representation, as well as coordinate substantive policy, and form common fronts for negotiations and voting.

UN Regional Group Secretaries-General Terms
Western European and Others 4 7
Eastern European Group 0 0
Latin American and Caribbean Group 1 2
Asian Group 2 3
African Group 2 3

About Suresh

has written 322 post in this blog.

I am nothing but want to be.

3 thoughts on “UN Secretaries General

Write your comment here...

Please share your valuable feedback on this post/article/information because Your appreciation motivate us, Your feedback improve us. Thank you!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>