Resource of General Knowledge, Current Affairs, GK Quizzes and Career News

General Knowledge Guide

» » Nagaland


Nagaland- perched on the north-eastern fringe of India, Nagaland is a picturesque land, endowed with an enchanting landscape of green hills, valleys and rivers. flowing down the mountains, across deep gorges and narrow vales. Varieties of flora and founa, resounding echoes of dance, music and gay festivities this is the exotic charm of Nagaland. The tribal people of this tiny state enjoy life and love their blue mountains and meandering streams. The modern Nagas are making a fast entry into the 20th century lifestyle, yet they are firmly rooted in their ancient mores and traditions.

Tourist Places in Nagaland

Kohima- capital, famous for the beautifully landscaped, exquisitely Maintained Second World War Cemetery. The State Museum; Barra Basti, Where The Nagas believe Kohima started. The zoo. Nearby Khonoma village offers Breathtaking mountain views.

Dimapur – the only airport and rail head in the state and a commercial centre.

Intangki Wildlife Sanctuary- 20,000 hectare virgin forest with many rare species of birds and animals.

Japfu Peak – 3048 m peak offers excellent view of kohima and is good for trekking.

Dzukou Valley – another enjoyable trekking destination rich with wild flowers rhododendrons and rolling meadows.

District Headquarters Area (km?) Official website
Zunheboto Zunheboto 1,255
Dimapur Dimapur 926
Kohima Kohima 3,113
Mokokchung Mokokchung 1,615
Mon Mon 1,786
Phek Phek 2,026
Tuensang Tuensang 4,228
Wokha Wokha 1,628
List of Indian States, and information like their capital, language of state and year of establishment.
StatesCapitalLanguagesYear of Establishment
Andhra PradeshHyderabadTelugu and Urdu1951
Arunachal PradeshItanagerMiji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi1972
GoaPanajiMarathi and Konkani1961
Himachal Pradesh
ShimlaHindi and Pahari1948
AizawlMizo and English1972
Jammu & Kashmir

Srinagar (Summer),Jammu (Winter) Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri1948
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi1956
MeghalayaShillongKhasi, Jaintia and Garo1970
KohimaAo, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha1963
RajasthanJaipurRajasthani and Hindi1948
SikkimGangtokBhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu1975
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil1688
TripuraAgartalaBengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak1956
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi1937
UttarakhandDehra DunHindi2000
West BengalCalcuttaBengali1947
Union territories:
Andaman & Nicobar1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi2001
Dadra and Nagar Haveli1941
Daman and Diu1987

Write your comment here...

Please share your valuable feedback on this post/article/information because Your appreciation motivate us, Your feedback improve us. Thank you!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>