Presidents of India – Details and Tenure Info

भारत के राष्ट्रपतियों के नाम और उनके कार्यकाल की सूची (Bharat Ke Raashtrapatiyon Ke Naam Aur Unake Kaaryakaal Ki Suchi)

List of Indian President with their Details and Tenure :-

The President of India is the Head of State and the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.

The President is indirectly elected by the people through elected members of both the houses of Parliament, the Legislative Assemblies of all the states of India and the Legislative Assemblies of the union territories of New Delhi and Puducherry and serves for a renewable term of five years. The oath of the President is taken in the presence of the Chief Justice of India, and in his/her absence, by the most senior judge of the Supreme Court.

Article 58 of the Constitution sets the principle qualifications one must meet to be eligible to the office of the President. A President must be:

  • A citizen of India
  • Of 35 years of age or above
  • Qualified to become a member of the Lok Sabha

A person shall not be eligible for election as President if he holds any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said Governments.

Read Also:  List of Major International Airport of India

Under The Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952,[39] a candidate to be nominated for the office of president needs 50 electors as proposers and 50 electors as seconders for his name to appear on ballot.

Election Process:
Whenever the office becomes vacant, the new President is chosen by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both houses of Parliament (M.P.s), the elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies (Vidhan Sabha) of all States and the elected members of the legislative assemblies (M.L.A.s) of two Union Territories (i.e., National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi and Union Territory of Puducherry). The election process of President is more extensive process than Prime Minister who is also elected indirectly (not elected by people directly) by the Lok Sabha members only. Whereas President being constitutional head with duties to protect, defend and preserve the constitution and rule of law in a constitutional democracy with constitutional supremacy, is elected in an extensive manner by the members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state legislative assemblies in a secret ballot procedure.

Read Also:  List of Governors of Reserve Bank of India

Read Below table shows the name and tenure details for all became President of India till date :-

President Names Tenure
Shri Ram Nath Kovind (b.1945) 25 July 2017- Till date
Shri Pranab Mukherjee (b.1935) 25 July,2012- 24 July,2012
Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) 26 Jan, 1950-12 May,1962
Dr. S.Radhakrishnan (1888-19750) 13 May,1962-12 May,1967
Dr. Zakir Hussain (1897-1969) 13 May,1967-3 May,1969
Shri V.V. Giri (1894-1980) 24 Aug,1969-23 Aug,1974
Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977) 24 Aug, 1974-11 Feb, 1977
Shri N. Sanjeeva Reddy (1913-1996) 25 July, 1977-24 July, 1982
Giani zail Singh (1916-1994) 25 July ,1982-24 July1987
Shri R. Venkataraman (1910-2009) 25 July ,1987-24 July 1992
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999) 25 July,1992-24 July,1997
Shri K.R. Narayanan (1920-2005) 25 July,1997-24 July,2002
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul kalam (b. 1931) 25 July,2002-24 July, 2007
Smt. Pratibha Devi Singh Patil (b.1934) 25 July,2007-24 July, 2012

Presidents of India – Details and Tenure Info
84 votes, 3.83 avg. rating (76% score)
Rate This Post


Add a Comment

Get update on your mobile, download our android app free now.Download
+ +