World Cup Football since 1930

The FIFA is an international association to organized football competition/match. It was established in 1930. It is contested by the men’s national team of the members of Federation International Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s biggest global governing body. The tournament has taken place every four years, except in 1942 and 1946, when the competition was cancelled due to the world war-II. The latest world cup, hosted by Brazil in 2014, was won by Germany, who beat the Argentina1–0. The next world cup is scheduled to be held in Russia from 08 June to 08 July 2018.The next world cup of 2022 is scheduled in Qatar.
The World Cup final matches are the last of the competition, and the results determine which country’s team is declared world champions. It is the game of 90 minutes of regular play, if the score is a draw, an additional 30-minute period of play is given and it called extra time. If such a game is still tied after extra time it is decided by kicks from the penalty mark, commonly called a penalty shootout. The winning penalty shoot-out team is then declared champion. The tournament has been decided by a one-off match on every occasion except 1950, when the tournament winner was decided by a final round-robin group contested by four teams, the teams were of Uruguay, Brazil, Sweden, and Spain. Uruguay’s 2–1 victory over Brazil was the decisive match and one of the last two matches of the tournament, which put them ahead on points table and ensured that they finished top of the group as world champions. Therefore, this amazing match is regarded by FIFA as the final of the 1950 World Cup.
By now 19 tournaments held and 76 nations have appeared at least once. Of these, twelve have made it to the final match, and eight have won. With five titles, Brazil is the most successful World Cup team and also the only nation to have participated in world cups final tournaments. Whilst, Italy has four titles and Germany have three. The other former champions are Uruguay, who won the inaugural tournament, and Argentina, with two titles each, and England and France, who have each won one. The current champion is Spain which took their first title in 2010.
Football was included as a competitive game in Olympic Games officially in 1908. India took part in the world Olympic Football Competition in 1948 in London. Besides Olympic competition, World Cup Football Championships were planned by two Frenchmen M. Jules Rimet and Henry Delaunay. Jules Rimet was president of the French Football Federation and remained president of FIFA From 1924 to1954.

Read Also:  Indian Gold Medalists at XIX Commonwealth Games 2010

FIFA World Cup Winners:

Year Place Winner Runners up
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1938 France Italy Hungary
1942 Cancelled (2nd World War) ————— ——————-
1946 Cancelled (2nd World War) —————- ——————
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1954 Switzerland West Germany Hungary
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1966 England England West Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1974 West Germany West Germany Holland
1978 Argentina Argentina Holland
1982 Spain Italy West Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina West Germany
1990 Italy West Germany Argentina
1994 United States of America Brazil Italy
1998 France France Brazil
2002 Japan and South Korea Brazil Germany
2006 Germany Italy France
2010 South Africa Spain Netherlands
2014 Brazil Germany Argentina
2018 Russia (Scheduled) ——————-
2022 Qatar (Scheduled) ——————-
Read Also:  India History at Asian (Asiad) Games

World Cup Football since 1930
3 votes, 4.33 avg. rating (83% score)
Rate This Post


Add a Comment

Get update on your mobile, download our android app free now.Download