Awards & Honours – 2012

The winners in different field are: Physics: Serge Haroche (Frence) and David J. Wineland (USA) “for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum system”.

Chemistry: Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian k. Kobilka (both from USA) “for studies of G-Protein-Coupled receptors”.Medicine: Sir John B. Gurdon (UK) and Shinya Yamanaka (Japan) “for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent”.

Literature: Mo Yan of China for “who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary”. Peace: European Union (EU) “for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. “Economic Sciences: Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley (both from USA) “for the theory of stable allocation and the practice of market design.”

 Man Booker Prize: Hilary Mantel scored a Booker double in London on October 16 with Bring UP the Bodies, the second book in her Tudor trilogy about the life of Thomas Cromwell, becoming the first women and the first Briton to win the Booker Prize twice. Mantel had won her first Booker for Wolf Hall, the first book of her trilogy, in 2009.

 London Film festival: American director and composer Benh Zeitlin won the prestigious Sutherland award for his Beasts of the Southern Wild. The Best film award went to French-Belgian production Rust and Bones, directed by Jacques Audiard.The Best British newcomer award went to Directed and Screen-writer Sally El Hosaini for her first film My Brother the Devil. Directed and screen-writer Alex Gibney won the Grierson Award for best documentary for his study of sexual abuse in the Catholic Church, Mea Maxima Culpa, Silence in the House of God.

Best Film Award In Fiji: Director Sujoy Ghosh’s Film, Kahaani, Starring actor Vidya Balan, has been named the best film at the International Film Festival in Fiji held in Lobasa and other cities in mid-October. Among the other awards, the Best Director award was given to director Rajkumar Hirani for his film 3 Idiots, a special Jury for Best Film award to director Girish kasarawalli’s Kumavatara, and best Documentary Film award to Urban Ox by A.K. Bir. In the short Film category, the award was given to Nirvana & Beyond, directed by Juhi Sinha. The Festival featured many international and local film entries including French, Russian, Middle Eastern films, Bollywood blockbusters and Bengali classics.

 Mumbai Film Festival: Musa Sayeed’s film Valley of Saints bagged the special Jury award in the international competition section at the 14th Mumbai Film Festival which concluded on October 25.Veteran actor Waheeda Rehman was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.In the International competition category for first feature films, the award was won by Aqui Y Alla (Here and There) directed by Antonio Mendes Esparza. It also won the award for best direction.The Jury award for technical excellence went to Pankaj Kumar for ship of Theseus directed by Anand Gandhi. In the newly introduced competition section for Indian feature films, Miss Lovely directed by Ashim Ahluwalia bagged the best film awards.

 Israel Prez Award : India-born music composer Zubin Mehta 76, was on October 15 in Jerusalem honored with the Israeli Presidential Award of Distinction for his contribution to the society through the language of music. Mehta, the 1st non-Jew to receive such and award, joins and elite group of Henry Kissinger, Judith Field Carr etc.

 Sakharov Prize : Filmmaker Jafar Panahi and rights lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh of Iran have won the European Parliament’s Sakharov rights prize.The Iranian pair were chosen for the prestigious 50,000-euro ($65,000) award ahead of the jailed members of Russian all-girl punk band Pussy Riot and Belarus dissident Ales Beliatsky.The shortlist for the prize, which recognize those who promote human rights and democratic values, was notable in that all the nominees but Mr. Panahi are Currently behind bars.

 Indira Gandhi Award: The 27th Indira Gandhi award for national integration is given to the 75-year-old lyricist and writer, noted poet and filmmaker Gulzar for his contribution to promoting and preserving the spirit of national integration.The award carries a cash prize of Rs5 lakh.

 Sangeet Natak Academy Fellowship & Awards: Eleven eminent persons in the field of music, dance and theatre were bestowed with the Academy fellowship for 2011 on October 9 new Delhi by Prez Pranav Mukherjee which included Sarod maestro Amjad Ali Khan, Santoor exponent Shivkumar Sharma and Flute legend Hariprasad Chaurasia. Besides this, 36 eminent personalities and artists, including well-known film and television actor Vikram Gokhle, were conferred the Sangeet natak Academy Award.

 Top French Honor: Ebrahim Alkazi, the grand old man of Indian theater, has been conferred France’s highest cultural award-knight of the order of Arts and Letter (Chevalier dans I’Ordre des Arts et des Letters)-for his contribution in nurturing and presenting modern theater in India and preserving the treasures of Photography and other art forms for posterity on September 28 in new Delhi.

 ‘Pride of India’ Award: Trilochan Singh Sahni, an ex-Indian diplomat-turned-entrepreneur, has been presented with the ‘Pride of India’ award on October 6 in London for his outstanding services to India and Britain.

 Shastri Award:  Tessy Thomas, the key defense scientist in the Agni series of Missiles, was conferred the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award by President Pranav Mukherjee on October 1,, for her outstanding contribution for making Indian self-reliant in the field of missile technology. The award carries a Rs5 lakh purse, a plaque and a citation.

 The Economist crossword Book award-2011-Aman Sethi The Hindu’s Correspondent in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia was on October 19 declared the winner of ‘The Economist Crossword Book Award 2011’ in the Indian non-fiction category for his book A Free man.

 First Prize At Taiwan Quiz: The Indian team took top honors at the Taiwan Excellence smartest!2012 on October 16, winning the first prize and $30,000 in a competition that lasted three months and involved over 36,000 contestants. The event was organized by the Taiwanese Bureau of Foreign Trade and its Ministry of Economic Affairs, and implemented by the Taiwan External Trade Development Council (TAITRA) to promote Taiwanese companies and their products in India, China, Vietnam, Indonesia.

 Spanish Honor: Congress MP Shashi Tharoor was conferred with a Spanish honour in New Delhi on October 11 while Union Minister farooq Abdullah was honored with the Great Cross of Civil Merit decoration.

National Kishore Kumar Award:  Legendary screenplay writer Salim Khan has been bestowed with the Madhya Pradesh government’s Prestigious National Kishore Kumar Award on October 13.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.