List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners From 1969 to Till Date

List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners 

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in Indian cinema industry. It is given annually by the Government of India for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema, to a prominent personality from the Indian film industry for significant contributions to Indian cinema. A committee consisting eminent personalities from the Indian film industry is appointed to evaluate the award.

Also Read: Bharat Ratna Award Recipients from 1954 to 2016

Introduced in 1969, the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke (also know as Father of Indian Cinema), who is considered as the father of Indian cinema, award is given to the film personalities for the development of Indian Cinema and for distinguished contribution, growth and promotion. The award for a particular year is given during the end of the following year along with the National Film Awards. The award comprises a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a cash prize of 10 million (increased from 2006) and a shawl.

Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2016:

Renowned filmmaker and actor Kasinathuni Viswanath is chosen for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2016. The award is conferred by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema. The award shall be conferred by the President of India at a function on May 3 at Vigyan Bhawan.

Following table illustrates the cash prize’s varied amount over the years:

Year (Period) Cash Prize
1969 – 1972 A Plaque, a Shawl and 11,000
1973 – 1976 A Gold medal, a Shawl and 20,000
1977 – 1983 A Gold medal, a Shawl and 40,000
1982 – 2002 Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 1,00,000
2003 – 2005 Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 2,00,000
2006 – (till date) Swarna Kamal, a Shawl and 10,00,000

Complete list of Dadasaheb Phalke Award recipients of from Year 1969 to till date:

Year(Period) Recipients Occupation/Field
2017 Vinod Khanna Actor
2016 Kasinathuni Viswanath Director
2015 Manoj Kumar Actor
2014 Shashi Kapoor Actor
2013 Gulzar Poet, Filmmaker
2012 Pran Krishan Sikand Actor
2011 Soumitra Chatterjee Actor
2010 K. Balachander Director
2009 D. Rama Naidu Producer
2008 V.K. Moorthy Cinematographer
2007 Manna De Playback Singer
2006 Shayam Benegal Director
2005 Brij Bhushan Chaturvedi Director
2004 Adoor Gopalkrishnan Director
2003 Mirinal Sen Director
2002 Dev Anand Director, Producer, Actor
2001 Yash Chopra Director, Producer
2000 Asha Bhonsle Playback Singer
1999 Hrishikesh Mukharjee Director
1998 Ravi Chopra Director, Producer
1997 Kavi Pradeep Lyricist
1996 Shivaji Ganeshan Actor
1995 Dr. Rajkumar Actor
1994 Dilip Kumar (Yusuf Khan) Actor
1993 Majrooh Sultanpuri Lyricist
1992 Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Director
1991 Bhalchandra Govind Pendhakar Director, Producer, Screenwriter
1990 Akkineni Nageshwar Rao Actor
1989 Lata Maneshkar Playback Singer
1988 Ashok Kumar Actor
1987 Rajkapoor Actor, Director
1986 B. Nagi Reddi Producer
1985 V. Shantaram Director, Producer, Actor
1984 Satyajit Ray Dirctor
1983 Durga khote Actress
1982 L.V. Prasad Actor, Dirctor, Producer
1981 Naushad Ali Music Director
1980 P. Jairaj Actor, Director
1979 Sohrab Modi Actor, Director, Producer
1978 Ray Chandra(R.C.) Boral Music Director, Director
1977 Nitin Bose Cinematographer, Director, Screenwriter
1976 Kanan Devi Actress
1975 Dhiren Ganguli Actor, Director
1974 B.N. Reddi Director
1973 Sulochana (Rubi Myers) Actress
1972 Pankaj Mallick Music Director
1971 Prithivi Raj Kapoor (Posthumously) Actor
1970 Birendra Nath Sircar Producer
1969 Devika Rani Roerich Actress
3.33 avg. rating (68% score) - 3 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.