Hat-Tricks in Test and One Day International Cricket

A hat-trick in the cricket is actually an occasion when a bowler takes three wickets in consecutive deliveries of three bowls. It can be in two different matches or in different over of same match, but a no or wide ball shouldn’t be bowled in between.

Test Match:

Till 13 October 2013, this has been achieved 40 times in over 2000 Test matches. The first Test hat-trick was got on 2 January 1879, in only the third Test match to take place, by the Australian pace bowler Fred Spofforth, nicknamed “The Demon Bowler”, who dismissed three English batsmen at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

At least one bowler from each of the ten nations that play Test cricket has taken a Test hat-trick. The most recent, a Bangladeshi spinner Sohaag Gazi has achieved the record against New Zealand on 13 October 2013. He made his Test debut in first test during West Indies’s tour of Bangladesh in 2012, taking six wickets in the second innings. He is the first and so far, only man to score a century and take a hat-trick in the same Test match and the first man to do it twice in First Class matches while Peter Siddle (Aus) is the only bowler to take a hat-trick on his birthday.

Harbhajan Singh and Irfaan Pathan are the only Indian bowlers who have got the hat-tricks in the test match. Irfaan Pathan got his hat-trick in Karachi against Pakistan in 2006. It is only hat-trick in the world cricket which was achieved in the first over of the match.

Jimmy Matthews (Aus) is only bowler who has taken two hat-tricks in the both innings of the same Test match against South Africa in the first match of the Triangular Tournament at Old Trafford, Manchester, England, on 28 May 1912. Only two other cricketers have taken more than one Test hat-trick – Hugh Trumble (Aus) and Wasim Akram (Pak). Only three players Maurice Allom (Eng) in 1930, Peter Petherick (NZ) in 1976, and Damien Fleming (Aus) in 1994 have taken a hat-trick on their Test debut. Geoff Griffin took only 8 Test wickets in his entire Test career with a hat-trick. Griffin was repeatedly called for throwing by the umpires during the match he took his hat-trick, and after that he never bowled again in a Test match.

Following is the list of Hat-tricks in Test Match Crickets:

Bowler (country) V/S Venue Year
Fredrick Spofforth (Aus) Eng Melbourne 02.01.1879
Billy Bates (Eng) Aus Melbourne 20.01.1883
Johnny Briggs (Eng) Aus Sydney 02.02.1892
Gregory Lohmann (Eng) SA P’Elizabeth 14.02.1896
Jack Hearne (Eng) Aus Leeds 30.06.1899
Hugh Trumble (Aus) Eng Melbourne 04.01.1902
Hugh Trumble (Aus) Eng Melbourne 08.03.1904
Jimmy Mathews (Aus) SA Manchester 28.05.1912
Jimmy Mathews (Aus) SA Manchester 28.05.1912
Maurice Allom (Eng) NZ C’church 10.01.1930
Tom Goddard (Eng) SA Jo’burg 26.12.1938
Peter Loader (Eng) WI Leeds 25,07.1957
Lindsay Kline (Aus) SA Cape Town 03.01.1958
Wes Hall (WI) Pak Lahore 29.03.1959
Geoff Griffin (SA) Eng Lord’s 24.06.1960
Lance Gibbs (WI) Aus Adelaide 30.01.1961
Peter Petherick (NZ) Pak Lahore 09.10.1976
Courtney Walsh (WI) Aus Brisbane 18.11.1988
Merv Hughes (Aus) WI Perth 04.12.1988
Damien Fleming (Aus) Pak Rawalpindi 09.10.1994
Shane Warne (Aus) Eng Melbourne 29.12.1994
Dominic Cork (Eng) WI Manchester 30.07.1995
Derren Gough (Eng) Aus Sydney 02.01.1999
Wasim Akram (Pak) SL Lahore 06.03.1999
Wasim Akram (Pak) SL Dhaka 14.03.1999
Nuwan Zoysa (SL) Zim Harare 26.11.1999
Abdul Razzaq (Pak) SL Galle 21.06.2000
Glenn McGrath (Aus) WI Perth 01.12.2000
Harbhajan Singh (India) Aus Kolkata 11.03.2001
Mohammad Sami (Pak) SL Lahore 08.03.2002
Jermeny Lawson (WI) Aus Bridgetown 02.05.2003
Alok Kapali (Bng) Pak Peshawar 29.08.2003
Andy Blignaut (Zim) Bng Harare 22.02.2004
Mathew Hoggard (Eng) WI Barbados 03.04.2004
James Franklin (NZ) Bng Dhaka 20.10.2004
Irfan Pathan (India) Pak Karachi 29.01.2006
Ryan Sidebottom (Eng) NZ Hamilton 08.03.2008
nuwan Zoysa (SL) Eng Brisbane 25.11.2010
Stuart Broad (Eng) Aus Nottingham 30.07.2011
Sohaag Gazi (Bng) NZ Chattgaon 13.10.2013


One Day International:

In the year 2013, it was a very lucky year for Bangladeshi bowlers because two bowlers have got hat tricks. They are Sohaag Gazi and Rubel Hussain who got hat tricks in test and one day international matches against New Zealand in their home.

The most recent bowler to enter the list is Rubel Hussain of Bngladesh who grabbed 3 back to back wickets against NZ in Mirpur on 29 Oct, 2013. Pakistani bowlers Wasim Akram and Saqlain Mushtaq have got two hat-tricks in their One day career while Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka is the only bowler to take 4 wickets in 4 balls, doing it in a world cup 2007 match against South Africa, even though his effort couldn’t win the game for his country. Aaqib Javed is the youngest bowler to take a hat trick in one day internationals.

Following is the list of Hat-tricks in One Day International Crickets:

Batsman (Country) V/S Venue Date
Jalal-ud-din (Pak) Aus Hyderabad 20.09.1982
Bruce Reid (Aus) NZ Sydney 29.01.1986
Chetan Sharma (India) NZ Nagpur 31.10.1987
Wasim Akram (Pak) WI Sharjah 14.10.1989
Wasim Akram (Pak) Aus Sharjah 04.05.1990
Kapil Dev (India) SL Kolkata 04.01.1991
Aaqib Javed (Pak) Ind Sharjah 25.10.1991
Danny Morrison (NZ) Ind Napier 25.05.1994
Waqar Younis (Pak) NZ East London 12.12.1994
Saqlain Mushtaq (Pak) Zim Peshawar 03.11.1996
Eddo Brandes (Zim) Eng Harare 03.01.1997
AM Stuart (Aus) Pak Melbourne 16.01.1997
Saqlain Mushtaq (Pak) Zim The Oval 11.06.1999
Chaminda Vaas (SL) Zim Colombo 08.12.2001
Mohammad Sami (Pak) WI Sharjah 15.02.2002
Chaminda Vaas (SL) B’desh P’burg 14.02.2003
Brett Lee (Aus) Kenya Durban 15.03.2003
James Anderson (Eng) Pak The Oval 20.06.2003
Steve Harmison (Eng) Ind Nottingham 01.10.2004
Charl Lengeveldt (SA) WI Barbados 11.05.2005
Shahadat Hossain (B’desh) Zim Harare 02.08.2006
Jerome Taylor (WI) Aus Mumbai 18.10.2006
Shane Bond (NZ) Aus Hobart 14.01.2007
Lasith Malinga (SL)) SA Guyana 28.03.2007
Andrew Flintoff (Eng) WI St Lucia 03.04.2009
Farveez Maharoof (SL) Ind Dam bulla 22.06.2010
Abdul Razzak (Bng) ZIM Mirpur 03.12.2010
Cemear Coache(WI) N’lands New Delhi 28.02.2011
Latish Malinga (SL) Kenya Colombo 01.03.2011
Latish Malinga (SL) Aus Colombo 22.08.2011
Denial Cristian (Aus) SL Melbourne 02.03.2012
Thisara Parera (SL) Pak Colombo 16.06.2012
Clint Mechay (AUS) Eng Cardiff 14.09.2013
Rubel Hussain (Bng) NZ Mirpur 29.10.2013
5.00 avg. rating (87% score) - 1 vote

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.