High Courts in India, List of Indian High Courts 2018

Name of Indian High Courts with Established Year

Do you know how many high courts in India, and where they are? This post will give you some insights based on Indian High Courts.

Note: Now, the total number of High Courts in the country are 24, by the central government. Because, the Centre has constituted three new high courts in the north-eastern states – Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya. They may soon have their own high court.

Each state has a High Court. It is the highest judicial organ of the state. However, there cab we a common high Court like Punjab, Haryana & Union territory of Chandigarh. Presently there are 24 high courts in India. Consists of chief justice & other such judge as appointed by the president. The Constitution, unlike in the case of the Supreme Court, does not fix any maximum number of judge for a High Court. (Allahabad High Court has 37 Judges while J&K High Court has only 5). A Judge of high court be transferred to another High Court without his consent by the president. In this, the chief justice of India is also consulted. The opinion provided by him shall have primacy and is binding on the president.

Also Read: Name of Sitting Chief Justice of Indian High Courts 

Appointment of High Court Judge:
Every Judge of a Court is appointed by the president.In making appointment as High Court Judge, President can consult the Chief Justice of India , the Governor of the State and also the Chief and also the Chief Justice of that High Court

A Judge of the High Court can hold office until the age of 62 years. A High Court Judge can leave his office:
(1) By resignation in writing addressed to the president.
(2) By being appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court or being transferred to any other High Court by the president.
(3) By removal by the president.
(4) The Mode of removal of a Judge of the High Court is same as that of Judge of the Supreme Court.

The qualifications for being a Judge of the High Court are: Be citizen of India. Not above 62 year of age. Must have held for at least 10 year a judicial office or experience of at least 10 years as advocate in a High Court in India. Salaries and allowances of the high court Judges are charged on the consolidated fund of the State .After retirement a permanent Judge of High Court can not plead or act in a Court of before any authority in India, expect the Supreme Court and a High Court in which he has not worked.

Here is a list of High Courts in India with their establishment year and working region.

NameEstablishment yearTerritorial JurisdictionSeat
Bombay1862Maharastra, Dadar and Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman  Diu
Kolkata1862West Bengal, Andman & Nicobar IslandsKolkata ( Bench of port Blair)
Madras1862Tamil Nadu & PondicherryChennai
Allahabad1866Uttar PradeshAllahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Jammu & Kashmir1928Jammu & KashmirSri Nagar & Jammu
Guwahati1948Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal PradeshGuwahati (Bench at Kohima,
Rajasthan1949RajasthanJodhpur ( Bench – Jaipur)
Andhra Pradesh1954Andhra PradeshHyderabad
Madhya Pradesh1956Madhya PradeshJabalpur (Bench –Indore , Gwalior)
Kerala1958Kerala & LakshadweepErnakulam
Himachal Pradesh1966Himachal PradeshShimla
Punjab & Haryana1975Punjab, Haryana , ChandigarhChandigarh
3.94 avg. rating (78% score) - 127 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.