ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is the 10th Cricket World Cup hosted by 3 South Asian countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. With India as the main host of game, venue includes stadiums of cities like Dhaka, Mumbai, Kolkata, Mohali, Colombo, Chennai, Nagpur, Ahmedabad, Chittagong and Bangalore. Cricket World Cup 2011 venue also includes venues like Pallekelle and Hambantota – both being in Sri Lanka. The first match was been played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

Cricket World Cup 2011 teams were 4 times winner Australia, 2 times winners West Indies, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, New Zealand, Netherlands, Canada, Ireland, England and Kenya. The all teams were divided in two groups:

  • Group A – Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya.
  • Group B – India, South Africa, England, Bangladesh, West Indies, Netherlands and Ireland.

Venue, Schedule and Results for Cricket World Cup 2011:

Date Teams Venue Result
19-Feb India vs Bangladesh Dhaka India beat Bangladesh by 87 runs
20-Feb New Zealand vs Kenya Chennai New Zealand won by 10 wickets
20-Feb Sri Lanka vs Canada Hambantota Sri Lanka won by 210 runs
21-Feb Australia vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad Sri Lanka won by 210 runs
22-Feb England vs Netherlands Nagpur England won by 6 wickets
23-Feb Pakistan vs Kenya Hambantota England won by 6 wickets
24-Feb South Africa vs West Indies New Delhi South Africa won by 7 wickets
25-Feb Australia vs New Zealand Nagpur Australia won by 7 wickets
25-Feb Bangladesh vs Ireland Dhaka Bangladesh won by 27 runs
26-Feb Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Colombo Pakistan won by 11 runs
27-Feb India vs England Bengaluru Match Tied
28-Feb West Indies vs Netherlands New Delhi West Indies won by 215 runs
28-Feb Zimbabwe vs Canada Nagpur Zimbabwe won by 175 runs
1-Mar Sri Lanka vs Kenya Colombo Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets
2-Mar England vs Ireland Bangalore Ireland won by 3 wickets
3-Mar South Africa vs Netherlands Mohali South Africa won by 231 runs
3-Mar Pakistan vs Canada Colombo Pakistan won by 46 runs
4-Mar New Zealand vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad New Zealand won by 10 wickets
4-Mar Bangladesh vs West Indies Dhaka West Indies won by 9 wickets
5-Mar Sri Lanka vs Australia Colombo Match abandoned
6-Mar India vs Ireland Bangalore India won by 5 wickets
6-Mar England vs South Africa Chennai England won by 6 runs
7-Mar Kenya vs Canada New Delhi Canada won by 5 wickets
8-Mar Pakistan vs New Zealand Pallekelle New Zealand won by 110 runs
9-Mar India vs Netherlands New Delhi India won by 5 wickets
10-Mar Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle Sri Lanka won by 139 runs
11-Mar West Indies vs Ireland Mohali West Indies won by 44 runs
11-Mar Bangladesh vs England Chittagong Bangladesh won by 2 wickets
12-Mar India vs South Africa Nagpur South Africa won by 3 wickets
13-Mar New Zealand vs Canada Mumbai New Zealand won by 97 runs
13-Mar Australia vs Kenya Bangalore Australia won by 60 runs
14-Mar Pakistan vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle Bangladesh won by 6 wickets
14-Mar Bangladesh vs Netherlands Chittagong Pakistan won by 7 wickets
15-Mar South Africa vs Ireland Kolkata South Africa won by 131 runs
16-Mar Australia vs Canada Bangalore Australia won by 7 wickets
17-Mar England vs West Indies Chennai England won by 18 runs
18-Mar Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Mumbai Sri Lanka won by 112 runs
18-Mar Ireland vs Netherlands Kolkata Ireland won by 6 wickets
19-Mar Australia vs Pakistan Colombo
Pakistan won by 4 wickets
19-Mar Bangladesh vs South Africa Dhaka South Africa won by 206 runs
20-Mar Zimbabwe vs Kenya Kolkata Zimbabwe won by 161 runs
20-Mar India vs West Indies Chennai India won by 80 runs
23-Mar 1st QF – PAK vs WI Dhaka Pakistan won by 10 wickets
24-Mar 2nd QF – AUS vs IND Colombo India won by 5 wickets
25-Mar 3rd QF – NZ vs SA Dhaka New Zealand won by 49 runs
26-Mar 4th QF – SL vs ENG Ahmedabad Sri Lanka won by 10 wickets
29-Mar 1st SF – NZ vs SL Colombo Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets
30-Mar 2nd SF – PAK vs IND Mohali India won by 29 runs
2-Apr FINAL Mumbai India won by 6 wickets

The tournament was won by India who defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets under the guidance of Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. India became the first nation to win a world cup final on home soil. After this World cup winning India became the second time winner of Cricket World Cup 2011.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.