Important National Highways, Railway Zones and Major Ports of India

List of Important National Highways, Railway Zones and Major Ports of India

Indian National Highways:

The national highways network of India is a network of highways that is managed and maintained by agencies of the Government of India. These highways measured over 100,087 km (62,191 mi) as of June 2016, including over 1,000 km (620 mi) of limited-access expressways (motorways). It is the second longest highway system in the world after China’s (111,950 kilometres (69,560 mi)).

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) is the nodal agency responsible for building, upgrading and maintaining most of the national highways network. It operates under the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. The National Highways Development Project (NHDP) is a major effort to expand and upgrade the network of highways.

Name of National Highways Connects
NH 1 New Delhi-Ambala- Jalandhar -Amritsar.
NH 2 Delhi -Mathua -Agra-Kanpur –Allahabad –Varanadi -Kolkata.
NH 3 Agra-Gwalior -Nasik-Mumbai
NH 4 Thand and Chennai via Pune and Belgaun.
NH 5 Kolkata -Chennai
NH 6 Kolkata -Dhule
NH 7 Varanasi -Kanyakumari
NH 8 Delhi –Mumbai (Via Jaipur, Baroda and Ahmedabad)
NH 9 Mumbai –Vijaywada
NH10 Delhi –Fazika

Note: NH-7 is the longest highway of India.

List of Indian Railway Zones:

The Indian Railways is divided into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of 70 divisions.

Each of the divisions, is headed by a Divisional Railway Manager (DRM) who reports to the General Manager (GM) of the zone. A DRM can be appointed from any services of Indian Railway, Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS), IRAS ,IES , IRPS etc.for the tenure of 3 years but it can be exceeded on the recommendation of Railway Board. Divisional officers heading all departments viz. engineering, mechanical, electrical, signal and telecommunication, accounts, personnel, operating, commercial, safety, medical, security branches report to the Divisional Railway Manager. The DRM is assisted by one or two Additional Divisional Railway Managers (ADRM) in the working of the division.

List of 17 zones and the 70 divisions of Indian Railways:

Name of Railway Zones Length (Km) Headquarters Railway Divisions
Northern Railway 6968 Delhi Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR,Moradabad
North Eastern Railway 3667 Gorakhpur Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER, Varanasi
Northeast Frontier Railway 3907 Guwahati Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia
Eastern Railway 2414 Kolkata Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda
South Eastern Railway 2631 Kolkata Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
South Central Railway 5803 Secunderabad Secunderabad, Hyderabad,Vijayawada,Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded
Southern Railway 5098 Chennai Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai,Palakkad, Salem, Thiruvananthapuram
Central Railway 3905 Mumbai Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur,Nagpur
Western Railway 6182 Mumbai Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot,Bhavnagar, Vadodara
South Western Railway 3177 Hubballi Hubballi, Bengaluru, Mysuru,
North Western Railway 5459 Jaipur Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur
West Central Railway 2965 Jabalpur Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
North Central Railway 3151 Allahabad Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi
South East Central Railway 2447 Bilaspur Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC
East Coast Railway 2572 Bhubaneswar Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Waltair
East Central Railway 3628 Hajipur Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai,Samastipur, Sonpur
Konkan Railway 741 CBD Belapur, Navi Mumbai Karwar, Ratnagiri

The 12 Major Sea Ports of India

The nine coastal Indian states Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and West Bengal are home to all major and minor ports of India. The long coastline of India forms one of the biggest piece of land into a body of water,These twelve major Indian Ports are handle a large volume of cargo traffic and container traffic. There are total 13 major sea ports of India,out of 12 are government and one, Ennore port of Chennai is the corporate one. Ennore Port is one of the major port of India located at Coromandel Coast of Tamil Nadu state along with private Krishnapatnam Port.

List of 12 Major Sea Ports of India

Port Name State
Kandla Port Gujarat
Nhava Sheva Maharashtra
Mumbai Port Maharashtra
Marmagao Port Goa
Panambur Port Karnataka
Cochin Port Kerala
Port Blair Andaman
Tuticorin Port Tamil Nadu
Chennai Port Tamil Nadu
Vizag Port Andhra Pradesh
Paradip Port Orissa
Haldia port West Bengal
3.80 avg. rating (75% score) - 10 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.