Assam – Since early 13th century to 19th century, this area had been ruled by the Ahoms, who came from Burma, but settled down here, ruling this land and finally fiving this State their name. An incredibly green and beautiful state. It is rich in flora and fauna, and petroleum. The entire existence of Assam is linked with the mighty river Brahmaputra, now gentle, now fierce, a river of extraordinary individuality and physical magnitude.

Tourist Places in Assam

Guwahati – capital and ancient pragiyotishpur. It is a city temples- Kamakshya, Bhubaneswari Devi, Navagraha , Umananda. Guwahati zoo Museum, Anthropological Museum, Forest Museum. Around Guwahati are Hajo, Pilgrimage centre for Buddhists and Muslims called Pao Mecca, Chandubi lake Sukleswar Janardhan temple .

Tezpur– an ancient town neat which is the oldest relic known to exits in Assam, a stone door dating back to 5th century. It is believed that once there were seven Shiva temples here.

Sibsagar – old Ahom capital, Kareng Ghar, a 7- floor palace, Talatal Ghar a garrison. Gargaon palace, many temple and tanks.

Hajo: Situated on the north bank of the Brahmaputra, 32 km from Guwahati, Hajo is the meeting point of the Muslim, Buddhist and Hindu faiths. The Hayagrib Madhab Temple here is said to contain a relic of Buddha; one school of Buddhism believes that Lord Buddha attained Nirvana here. Numerous Bhutias congregate at the shrine in the winter.

Umananda Temple: This great Shiva temple situated on the Peacock Island in the middle of the Brahmaputra in Guwahati attracts devotees from all over the country during Shiva Ratri. One can visit the temple by crossing the river by crossing the river by country boat plying from Kachari Ghat. Regularly ferry services are available to this place.

Navgraha: Also known as the Adobes of Surya, the Navagraha Temple or the temple of the nine celestial bodies is located in the south eastern part of Guwahati, on the hill of Chitrachal. As the name indicates, this temple is dedicated ot the nine planets in the solar system. Navgraha Temple is Guwahati is a centre of astrological and astronomical research. The Navagraha Temple was built by the ruler Rajeswar Singh in late 18th century AD. The temple tower was destroyed by an earthquake, but was reconstructed later. Enshrined in this temple are nine Shivalingams, representing the nine celestial bodies, each covered with a coloured garment symbolic of each nine planetary Gods.

Durgiana Temple: A walk away from the complex through the narrow passageways brings the visitors to the 16th century Hindu temple of Durgiana Temple that is near the Golden temple, with a golden dome and silver portals. The temple is dedicated to goddess Durga. This temple derives its name from the Goddess Durga and it is also called by the name of Lakshmi Narayan Temple. The temple was constructed by Guru Harsai Mal Kapoor on the pattern of the Golden Temple and it is located the Lohgarh gate.

Orang, Manas, Kaziranga, – wildlife sanctuaries.

Jorhat – hub of tea industry, Vaishnav monasteries at Majuli the river island.

Digboi, Duliajan- oil Centres.

Jatinga – famous for bird phenomenon.

List of Districts in Assam:

District Headquarters Area (km²) Official website
Barpeta Barpeta 3,245
Bongaigaon Bongaigaon 2,510
Cachar Silchar 3,786
Darrang Mangaldai 3,481
Dhemaji Dhemaji 3,237
Dhubri Dhubri 2,838
Dibrugarh Dibrugarh 3,381
Goalpara Goalpara 1,824
Golaghat Golaghat 3,502
Hailakandi Hailakandi 1,327
Jorhat Jorhat 2,851
Karbi Anglong Diphu 10,434
Karimganj Karimganj 1,809
Kokrajhar Kokrajhar 3,129
Lakhimpur Lakhimpur 2,277
Marigaon Marigaon 1,704
Nagaon Nagaon 3,831
Nalbari Nalbari 2,257
Dima Hasao Haflong 4,888
Sibsagar Sibsagar 2,668
Sonitpur Tezpur 5,324
Tinsukia Tinsukia 3,790
List of Indian States, and information like their capital, language of state and year of establishment.
StatesCapitalLanguagesYear of Establishment
Andhra PradeshHyderabadTelugu and Urdu1951
Arunachal PradeshItanagerMiji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi1972
GoaPanajiMarathi and Konkani1961
Himachal Pradesh
ShimlaHindi and Pahari1948
AizawlMizo and English1972
Jammu & Kashmir

Srinagar (Summer),Jammu (Winter) Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri1948
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi1956
MeghalayaShillongKhasi, Jaintia and Garo1970
KohimaAo, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha1963
RajasthanJaipurRajasthani and Hindi1948
SikkimGangtokBhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu1975
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil1688
TripuraAgartalaBengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak1956
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi1937
UttarakhandDehra DunHindi2000
West BengalCalcuttaBengali1947
Union territories:
Andaman & Nicobar1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi2001
Dadra and Nagar Haveli1941
Daman and Diu1987
3.75 avg. rating (74% score) - 16 votes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.