Madhya Pradesh – Literally meaning the central State, Madhya Pradesh straddles India’s heartland to divide north from south and east from west. The State has great geographical diversity with its forest clad hills, plateaus and plains cut deep by swift rivers and barren desolate ravines. Surrounded by the mighty Vindhya and Satpura hill rages, a third of India’s forest are located hare. These forests are rich in some of the finest hardwoods in the world – teak, sal, Indian ebony and rosewood. Some of the richest mineral deposits in the world are founded here. Bandhavgarh and its sister sanctuary Kanha are an irresistible attraction for all wildlife lovers. Kanha is considered one of the finest wildlife sanctuaries in Asia, with rich forests, rolling grasslands and meandering streams. Tiger, panther, bear, wildcat, deer, gaur, wild pig are among the many animals that call these forests their home. The marble rocks, near Jabalpur are famous for their glistening splendor a marvel such as only nature could create. Here the Narmada flows between towering, glistening white rocks of marble for over 3 km before cascading down in a fascinating waterfall. The State is incredibly rich in Hindu and Buddhist architecture, sculpture and places of worship. A rich and historical legacy, formidable forts that echo battle sounds and tales of rare heroism. Gorgeous palaces that evoke opulence, style and royal ambience. Some of the most impressive architecture anywhere in India is to be found in Khajuraho, Orchha, Shivpuri and Gwalior. The khajuraho temple wee built in an inspired burst of creativity in the 10th and centuries. Of the original 85 temples, 22 survive today, enthralling visitors from all over the world. Life in every form and mood has been captured here in stone. Khajuraho is India’s unique gift to the world.

Tourist Places in Madhya Pradesh

Bhopal – state capital, founded by the 11th century ruler Bhoj who was fond of building dams to form beautiful lakes or ‘ pals’ India’s premier centre for the cultivation of arts, Bharat Bhavan is here. Bhojeswer temple in nearby Bhojpur is incomplete but impressive. About 40 km away, at Bhimbetka are over 500 rock cut caves with startling rock painting going back to the palaeolithic ages. Airport: Bhopal.

Sanchi- the Buddhist stupa is close by Airport: Bhopal.

Indore: Palaces, temples Museum. Airport: Indore.

Ujjain – Kumbh mela held here every 12 years. An ancient city that predates the Buddha.

Omkateshwar near Indore, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain – Iyotirlinga temples.

Maheshwar – hallowed by memories of queen Ahilyabai, this is a small weavers’ village on the banks of the Narmada, where the famous Maheshwari sarees are woven.

Mandu – Ruins of the largest fortified city in the world. Full if lakes, palaces, gardens, mosques, temples. Perched at an altitude of 610 m in the Vindhya hills, Manduwas once ruled over by the sultans of Malwa and the Mughals.

Kanha, Bandhavarh, Madhav, Panna – national parks and wildlife sanctuaries Kanha, one of the original project tiger reserves, Bandhavgarh, the habitat of Several species of deer and tigers . Madhav and Panna are home to many species of flora and fauna.

Pachmarhi – hill resort.

Orchha – in the heart of Bundelkhand hallowed by centuries of turbulent history, it was once the capital of Bundela kings. Palaces, forts and temples in excellent state of preservation.

Shivpuri – Sumer capital of Scindia rulers of Gwalior, situated in the midst of wooded hills. Nearby Madhav National park hosts many migratory birds and wild animals.

Gwalior – famous for its hilltop fort with Raja Mansigh palace, temples. Tansen Music Festival is held here. Airport: Gwalior.

Khajuraho- 85 Chandela temple of exquisite craftsmanship of which 22 are still there. An annual dance festival is held here where the doyens of Indian classical dance perform in Khandariya Mahadev temple. Airport: Khajuraho.

Chitrakoot – Rama, sita and Lakshmana, the legendary figures of the Ramayana spent much of their 14 year exile here.

Bastar District – very rich in tribal life and culture where the Bhils, Gonds, Oraons and other tribes have still retainedmuch of their original lifestyle. Chitrakoot falls.

List of Districts and their headquarters in Madhya Pradesh state of India.

District Headquarters Area (km?) Official website
Alirajpur Alirajpur
Anuppur Anuppur 3,701
Ashok Nagar Ashok Nagar 4,673.94
Balaghat Balaghat 9,229
Barwani Barwani 5,432
Betul Betul 10,043
Bhind Bhind 4,459
Bhopal Bhopal 2,772
Burhanpur Burhanpur
Chhatarpur Chhatarpur 8,687
Chhindwara Chhindwara 11,815
Damoh Damoh 7,306
Datia Datia 2,694
Dewas Dewas 7,020
Dhar Dhar 8,153
Dindori Dindori 7,427
Guna Guna 6,485
Gwalior Gwalior 5,465
Harda Harda 3,339
Hoshangabad Hoshangabad 6,698
Indore Indore 3,898
Jabalpur Jabalpur 5,210
Jhabua Jhabua 6,782
Katni Katni 4,947
Khandwa (East Nimar) Khandwa 10,779
Khargone (West Nimar) Khargone 8,010
Mandla Mandla 5,805
Mandsaur Mandsaur 5,530
Morena Morena 4,991
Narsinghpur Narsinghpur 5,133
Neemuch Neemuch 4,267
Panna Panna 7,135
Rewa Rewa 6,314
Rajgarh Rajgarh 6,143
Ratlam Ratlam 4,861
Raisen Raisen 8,466
Sagar Sagar 10,252
Satna Satna 7,502
Sehore Sehore 6,578
Seoni Seoni 8,758
Shahdol Shahdol 9,954
Shajapur Shajapur 6,196
Sheopur Sheopur 6,585
Shivpuri Shivpuri 10,290
Sidhi Sidhi 10,520
Singrauli Waidhan 5,672
Tikamgarh Tikamgarh 5,055
Ujjain Ujjain 6,091
Umaria Umaria 4,062
Vidisha Vidisha 7,362
List of Indian States, and information like their capital, language of state and year of establishment.
StatesCapitalLanguagesYear of Establishment
Andhra PradeshHyderabadTelugu and Urdu1951
Arunachal PradeshItanagerMiji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi1972
GoaPanajiMarathi and Konkani1961
Himachal Pradesh
ShimlaHindi and Pahari1948
AizawlMizo and English1972
Jammu & Kashmir

Srinagar (Summer),Jammu (Winter) Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri1948
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi1956
MeghalayaShillongKhasi, Jaintia and Garo1970
KohimaAo, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha1963
RajasthanJaipurRajasthani and Hindi1948
SikkimGangtokBhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu1975
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil1688
TripuraAgartalaBengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak1956
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi1937
UttarakhandDehra DunHindi2000
West BengalCalcuttaBengali1947
Union territories:
Andaman & Nicobar1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi2001
Dadra and Nagar Haveli1941
Daman and Diu1987
4.23 avg. rating (83% score) - 13 votes
No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.