Bara Imambara Information:

The city of Lucknow is home to a historic gate named Imambara, where an amazing architecture is seen that remains stunned by the modern architect. Imambara was constructed by Nawab Asafuddaula in 1784 (18th Century) and its conceptualist ‘Kifayatullah’, which is said to be related to the Taj Mahal architect. Built by the Nawab in the famine relief program, this fort is a huge and grand structure, also known as ‘Asafai Imambara’. A mixture of Rajput and Mughal architectures appears in this structure with gothic effect.

Bara Imambara History:

The construction of Imambara was started in 17864 which lasted till 1791. The huge domed hall built in the main compound is 50 meters long and 14 meters high. It is a building that does not use any timber and pillar to make it, it is estimated that in this period, the cost of five lakh rupees was made. Not only this, even after the completion of this building, Nawab used to spend 5-6 lakh rupees annually on his decoration. They used to call the world famous poets in to listen poem from them. There is also a beautiful mosque in Imambara where non-Muslim people are not allowed to enter.

Quick info About Bara Imambara:

Place Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
Opened 1784
Burials Asaf-ud-Daula
Built By Asaf-ud-Daula

Important Facts about Bara Imambara:

  1. Imambara was constructed by Asafuddaula in 1784 under the famine relief project.
  2. This spacious domed hall is 50 meters long and 15 meters high.
  3. The cost of five to ten lakh rupees was made in that time.
  4. Nawab used to spend four to five lakh rupees annually on its decoration.
  5. It has a world-famous maze, which prevented the unwanted entry from coming out of the way.
  6. The architecture of Imambara exhibits the Mughal style, which is very similar to that of Pakistan’s imperial mosque in Lahore.
  7. The main feature of its design is that there is no use of iron in it.
  8. It is believed that there is also a long tunnel way which leads to the Gomti river.
List of Indian States, and information like their capital, language of state and year of establishment.
StatesCapitalLanguagesYear of Establishment
Andhra PradeshHyderabadTelugu and Urdu1951
Arunachal PradeshItanagerMiji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi1972
GoaPanajiMarathi and Konkani1961
Himachal Pradesh
ShimlaHindi and Pahari1948
AizawlMizo and English1972
Jammu & Kashmir

Srinagar (Summer),Jammu (Winter) Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri1948
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi1956
MeghalayaShillongKhasi, Jaintia and Garo1970
KohimaAo, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha1963
RajasthanJaipurRajasthani and Hindi1948
SikkimGangtokBhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu1975
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil1688
TripuraAgartalaBengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak1956
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi1937
UttarakhandDehra DunHindi2000
West BengalCalcuttaBengali1947
Union territories:
Andaman & Nicobar1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi2001
Dadra and Nagar Haveli1941
Daman and Diu1987
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes
No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.