West Bengal- Long before Calcutta became a jewel of the east, this richly fertile Ganga delta criss crossed by innumerable rain swollen rivers was the cradle of many a flourishing civilization down history. Bengals’s heritage of many splendoured culture continues to this day. Calcutta has an exhilaratingly rich cultural life that nurtures and patronises young talent, be it in neo classical and classical music and dance, theatre, folk music, fine arts, literature or handicrafts.

The magapolis is also the centre of trade and commerce for the whole region as well as the gateway to the north eastern States. The Bengal landscape is extraordinary in its sheer range of diversity. The mighty Ganga completes its 2500 km long odyssey and tumbles into the bay of Bengal, fragmenting southern Bengal coast with innumerable estuaries, thus creating the dark, dance fen of the Sundarbans, one of the last few virgin mangrove forests left in the world and the home of the famed royal Bengal Tiger. The many rivers here not only nurture rich paddy lands, they are the arteries of trade transport. The state stretches all the way up to the foothills of the Himalayas, snuggling many delightful hill stations where the Kanchenjunga and other majestic peaks dominate the skyline.

Tourist Places in West Bengal

Calcutta– a 300 year old city, the seat of British administration until the capital was moved to Delhi. One of the largest cities in India, with British architecture still strong. Fort William, Victoria Memorial, St. Paul’s cathedral, Nehru children’s Museum, India Museum, Birla Planetarium, Kali temple, Radha Gobinda temple of ISKCON, Botanical Gardens, Academy of Fine Arts. Rabindra Sadan, Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, Zoological Garden. Airport: Calcutta.

Dakshineshwar – Kali temple near Belur, where the philosopher Ramakrishna Paramhansa lived and preached. Vivekananda because his disciple and founded the worldwide humanitarian Ramakrishna Mission also based nearby. Airport: Calcutta.

Shantiniketan – Tagore’s international university. Airport: Calcutta.

Vishnupur – famous for its 17th and 18th century terracotta temples.

Mirilk, Darjeeling, Kalimpong, Ghoom, Kurseong –hill resorts. Airport: Bagdogra.

Jaldapara, Sundarbans – Wildlife sanctuaries. Sundarbans is the biggest estuarine mangrove forest in the world and still quite primordial.

Nabadweep – built on a group of island in the Ganga, it is the seat of the’ bhakti’ cult of the Vaishnavaite Sri Chaitanya.

Murshidabad – Ruins of the last Nawabdom in Bengal.

Digha– beach resort.

List of Districts and Headquarters of West Bengal

District Headquarters Area (km²) Official website
Birbhum Suri 4,545 www.birbhum.gov.in/
Bankura Bankura 6,882 www.bankura.nic.in/
Bardhaman Bardhaman 7,024 www.bardhaman.nic.in/
Darjeeling Darjeeling 3,149 www.darjeeling.gov.in/
Dakshin Dinajpur Balurghat 2,183 www.ddinajpur.nic.in/
Hooghly Hugli-Chuchura 3,149 www.hooghly.nic.in/
Howrah Howrah 1,467 www.howrah.gov.in/
Jalpaiguri Jalpaiguri 6,227 www.jalpaiguri.nic.in/
Cooch Behar Cooch Behar 3,387 www.coochbehar.gov.in/
Kolkata Kolkata 185 www.kolkata.gov.in/
Malda English Bazar 3,733 www.malda.nic.in/
Paschim Medinipur Midnapore 9,786 www.paschimmedinipur.gov.in/
Purba Medinipur Tamluk 4,785 www.purbamedinipur.gov.in/
Murshidabad Baharampur 5,324 www.murshidabad.gov.in/
Nadia Krishnanagar 3,927 www.nadia.nic.in/
North 24 Parganas Barasat 4,095 www.north24parganas.nic.in/
South 24 Parganas Alipore 9,955 www.s24pgs.gov.in/
Purulia Purulia 6,259 www.purulia.gov.in/
Uttar Dinajpur Raiganj 3,180 www.uttardinajpur.nic.in/
List of Indian States, and information like their capital, language of state and year of establishment.
StatesCapitalLanguagesYear of Establishment
Andhra PradeshHyderabadTelugu and Urdu1951
Arunachal PradeshItanagerMiji, Apotanji, Merdukpen, Tagin,Adi, Honpa, Bangini-Nishi1972
GoaPanajiMarathi and Konkani1961
Himachal Pradesh
ShimlaHindi and Pahari1948
AizawlMizo and English1972
Jammu & Kashmir

Srinagar (Summer),Jammu (Winter) Kashmiri,Dogri, Urdu, Ladakhi,Pahari,Punjabi and Dadri1948
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi1956
MeghalayaShillongKhasi, Jaintia and Garo1970
KohimaAo, Konyak, Angami, Sema and Lotha1963
RajasthanJaipurRajasthani and Hindi1948
SikkimGangtokBhutia, Hindi, Nepali, Lepcha, Limbu1975
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil1688
TripuraAgartalaBengali, Tripuri, Manipuri, Kakborak1956
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi1937
UttarakhandDehra DunHindi2000
West BengalCalcuttaBengali1947
Union territories:
Andaman & Nicobar1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi2001
Dadra and Nagar Haveli1941
Daman and Diu1987
2.86 avg. rating (59% score) - 7 votes
No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.