List of Chief of Army Staff in India Since 1947 to Till Date

List of Chief of Army Staff in India Since 1947:-

The Chief of the Army Staff is the commander and usually the highest-ranking officer of the Indian Army. The position is abbreviated as COAS in Indian Army cables and communication, and usually held by a four-star officer in the rank of General.

Bipin Singh Rawat is current Chief of the Army Staff, who took office on 31 December 2016 following retirement of General Dalbir Singh Suhag on 31 December 2016.

Office of the Chief of the Army Staff
The office of the Chief of the Army Staff was created through The Commanders-In-Chief (Change in Designation) Act of the Indian Parliament in 1955. It replaced the erstwhile office of the Commander-in-Chief, Army. The office is based at South Block of the Central Secretariat at Raisina Hill, New Delhi.

The following table chronicles the appointees to the office of the Chief of the Army Staff or its preceding positions since the independence of India in 1947.

29Bipin Singh RawatGeneral31 December 2016 to Till Date
28Dalbir Singh SuhagGeneral31 July 2014 to 31 December 2016
27Bikram SinghGeneral31-May-12 to 31 Jul 2014
26Vijay Kumar SinghGeneral31-Mar-10 to 31-May-12
25Deepak KapoorGeneral30-Sep-07 to 31-Mar-10
24Joginder Jaswant SinghGeneral31-Jan-05 to 30-Sep-07
23Nirmal Chander VijGeneral31-Dec-02 to 31-Jan-05
22Sundararajan PadmanabhanGeneral1-Oct-00 to 30-Dec-02
21Ved Prakash MalikGeneral1-Oct-97 to 30-Sep-00
20Shankar RoychowdhuryGeneral20-Nov-94 to 30-Sep-97
19Bipin Chandra JoshiGeneral1-Jul-93 to 19-Nov-94
18Sunith Francis RodriguesGeneral1-Jul-90 to 30-Jun-93
17Vishwa Nath SharmaGeneral1-Jun-88 to 30-Jun-90
16Krishnaswamy SundarjiGeneral1-Feb-85 to 31-May-88
15Arun Shridhar VaidyaGeneral1-Aug-83 to 31-Jan-85
14Kotikalapudi Venkata Krishna RaoGeneral1-Jun-81 to 31-Jul-83
13Om Prakash MalhotraGeneral1-Jun-78 to 31-May-81
12Tapishwar Narain RainaGeneral1-Jun-75 to 31-May-78
11Gopal Gurunath BewoorGeneral16-Jan-73 to 31-May-75
10Sam Hormusji Framji Jamshedji ManekshawField Marshal8-Jun-69 to 15-Jan-73
9Paramasiva Prabhakar KumaramangalamGeneral8-Jun-66 to 7-Jun-69
8Joyanto Nath ChaudhuriGeneral20-Nov-62 to 7-Jun-66
7Pran Nath ThaparGeneral8-May-61 to 19-Nov-62
6Kodandera Subayya ThimayyaGeneral8-May-57 to 7-May-61
5Satyawant Mallannah ShrinageshGeneral15-May-55 to 7-May-57
4Maharaj Shri Rajendrasinhji JadejaGeneral15-Jan-53 to 14-May-55
3Kodandera Madappa CariappaField Marshal16-Jan-49 to 14-Jan-53
2Sir Francis Robert Roy BucherGeneral1-Jan-48 to 15-Jan-49
1Sir Robert McGregor Macdonald LockhartGeneral15-Aug-47 to 31-Dec-47
4.14 avg. rating (81% score) - 7 votes