Famous Indian Festivals and National Holidays of India in 2018

Famous Indian Festivals and Public Holidays of India in 2018:

There is a history attached with each and every festivals that people celebrate in India. Diwali is celebrated when Lord Ram came back from Exile people of Ayodhaya ignited lit in the happiness of his return from Exile after 14 years. India is a Multi-Religious country with various cultures and their special rituals adds glow to Indian heritage. With overall population of more than 1.18 billion, festival starts from welcoming the New Year, the rains and the full moon day. Behind each festival, there is different history present. Read the full list of Indian Calendar for famous Festivals, national and public holidays and fasts celebrated in all over India.

List of 2018 festivals in India to know holidays and fasts:-

Date Day Name of Holidays, Festivals and Fasts
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in January 2018
01 January Monday Purnima Upavas, English New Year
02 January Tuesday Paush Purnima, Shakambhari Purnima, Arudra Darshan
03 January Wednesday Magha Begins *North
05 January Friday Sankashti Chaturthi, Sakat Chauth
08 January Monday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti, Kalashtami
12 January Friday Shattila Ekadashi
02 January Saturday Lohri
14 January Sunday Pradosh Vrat, Meru Trayodashi, Pongal, Makar Sankranti
15 January Monday Masik Shivaratri, Magh Bihu
16 January Tuesday Magha Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Mauni Amavas, Thai Amavasai
18 January Thursday Chandra Darshan, Gupta Navratri Begins
21 January Sunday Vinayaka Chaturthi, Ganesha Jayanti
22 January Monday Vasant Panchami, Skanda Sashti
23 January Tuesday Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
24 January Wednesday Ratha Saptami, Narmada Jayanti
25 January Thursday Bhishma Ashtami, Masik Durgashtami
26 January Friday Republic Day
27 January Saturday Jaya Ekadashi, Rohini Vrat
28 January Sunday Gauna Jaya Ekadashi, Vaishnava Jaya Ekadashi, Bhishma Dwadashi
29 January Monday Pradosh Vrat
31 January Wednesday Magha Purnima, Chandra Grahan, Purnima Upavas, Guru Ravidas Jayanti, Lalita Jayanti, Thai Pusam
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in February 2018
01 February Thursday Phalguna Begins *North
03 February Saturday Sankashti Chaturthi
06 February Tuesday Yashoda Jayanti
07 February Wednesday Shabari Jayanti, Kalashtami
08 February Thursday Janaki Jayanti
10 February Saturday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
11 February Sunday Vijaya Ekadashi
13 February Tuesday Pradosh Vrat, Maha Shivaratri, Kumbha Sankranti
15 February Thursday Phalguna Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Surya Grahan
17 February Saturday Chandra Darshan, Phulera Dooj, Ramakrishna Jayanti
19 February Monday Vinayaka Chaturthi
21 February Wednesday Skanda Sashti
22 February Thursday Ashtahnika Vidhan Begins
23 February Friday Masik Durgashtami
24 February Saturday Rohini Vrat
26 February Monday Amalaki Ekadashi
27 February Tuesday Narasimha Dwadashi, Pradosh Vrat
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in March 2018
01 March Thursday Chaumasi Chaudas, Chhoti Holi, Holika Dahan, Vasanta Purnima, Dol Purnima, Purnima Upavas, Ashtahnika Vidhan Ends, Phalguna Purnima, Lakshmi Jayanti, Chaitanya Mahaprabhu Jayanti, Masi Magam
02 March Friday Holi, Chaitra Begins *North, Attukal Pongala
03 March Saturday Bhai Dooj, Bhratri Dwitiya
04 March Sunday Shivaji Jayanti
05 March Monday Sankashti Chaturthi
06 March Tuesday Ranga Panchami
08 March Thursday Sheetala Saptami
09 March Friday Basoda, Sheetala Ashtami, Kalashtami, Varshitap Arambha
13 March Tuesday Papmochani Ekadashi
14 March Wednesday Pradosh Vrat, Meena Sankranti, Karadaiyan Nombu
15 March Thursday Masik Shivaratri
17 March Saturday Chaitra Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya
18 March Sunday Chandra Darshan, Chaitra Navratri, Gudi Padwa, Ugadi
19 March Monday Jhulelal Jayanti
20 March Tuesday Gauri Puja, Gangaur, Matsya Jayanti, Vernal Equinox
21 March Wednesday Vinayaka Chaturthi, Lakshmi Panchami
22 March Thursday Skanda Sashti
23 March Friday Yamuna Chhath, Rohini Vrat
24 March Saturday Navapad Oli Begins, Masik Durgashtami
25 March Sunday Rama Navami, Mahatara Jayanti
27 March Tuesday Kamada Ekadashi
28 March Wednesday Vamana Dwadashi
29 March Thursday Pradosh Vrat, Mahavir Swami Jayanti
30 March Friday Good Friday, Hazarat Ali’s Birthday
31 March Saturday Hanuman Jayanti, Chaitra Purnima, Purnima Upavas, Navapad Oli Ends, Panguni Uthiram
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in April 2018
01 April Sunday Vaishakha Begins *North, Bank’s Holiday, Easter
03 April Tuesday Sankashti Chaturthi
08 April Sunday Kalashtami
12 April Thursday Varuthini Ekadashi, Vallabhacharya Jayanti
13 April Friday Pradosh Vrat
14 April Saturday Masik Shivaratri, Solar New Year, Mesha Sankranti, Baisakhi, Puthandu, Ambedkar Jayanti
15 April Sunday Darsha Amavasya, Vishu Kani, Pohela Boishakh
16 April Monday Vaishakha Amavasya, Somvati Amavas
17 April Tuesday Chandra Darshan
18 April Wednesday Parashurama Jayanti, Akshaya Tritiya, Varshitap Parana, Matangi Jayanti, Masik Karthigai
19 April Thursday Vinayaka Chaturthi, Rohini Vrat
20 April Friday Shankaracharya Jayanti, Surdas Jayanti
21 April Saturday Skanda Sashti, Ramanuja Jayanti
22 April Sunday Bhanu Saptami, Ganga Saptami
23 April Monday Masik Durgashtami, Bagalamukhi Jayanti
24 April Tuesday Sita Navami
25 April Wednesday Mahavir Swami Kevalagyan
26 April Thursday Mohini Ekadashi, Parashurama Dwadashi, Thrissur Pooram
27 April Friday Pradosh Vrat
28 April Saturday Narasimha Jayanti, Chhinnamasta Jayanti
29 April Sunday Kurma Jayanti, Purnima Upavas
30 April Monday Vaishakha Purnima, Buddha Purnima, Chitra Pournami
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in May 2018
01 May Tuesday Jyeshtha Begins *North, Narada Jayanti
03 May Thursday Sankashti Chaturthi
04 May Friday Agni Nakshatram Begins
07 May Monday Kalashtami, Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti
09 May Wednesday Tagore Jayanti *Bengal
10 May Thursday Hanuman Jayanti *Telugu
11 May Friday Apara Ekadashi
13 May Sunday Pradosh Vrat, Masik Shivaratri
15 May Tuesday Jyeshtha Amavasya, Darsha-Bhavuka Amavasya, Shani Jayanti, Vat Savitri Vrat, Vrishabha Sankranti, Masik Karthigai
16 May Wednesday Adhik Maas Begins, Chandra Darshan
17 May Thursday Rohini Vrat
18 May Friday Vinayaka Chaturthi
20 May Sunday Skanda Sashti
22 May Tuesday Masik Durgashtami
24 May Thursday Ganga Dussehra
25 May Friday Padmini Ekadashi
26 May Saturday Pradosh Vrat, Shani Trayodashi
28 May Monday Agni Nakshatram Ends, Vaikasi Visakam
29 May Tuesday Jyeshtha Purnima, Purnima Upavas
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in June 2018
02 June Saturday Sankashti Chaturthi
06 June Wednesday Kalashtami
10 June Sunday Parama Ekadashi
11 June Monday Pradosh Vrat
12 June Tuesday Masik Shivaratri, Masik Karthigai
13 June Wednesday Jyeshtha Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Adhik Maas Ends, Rohini Vrat
15 June Friday Chandra Darshan, Mithuna Sankranti, Jamat Ul-Vida, Eid al-Fitr, Ramadan
16 June Saturday Maharana Pratap Jayanti
17 June Sunday Vinayaka Chaturthi
18 June Monday Skanda Sashti
20 June Wednesday Masik Durgashtami, Dhumavati Jayanti
21 June Thursday Mahesh Navami, Longest Day of Year
23 June Saturday Gayatri Jayanti, Nirjala Ekadashi
24 June Sunday Ramalakshmana Dwadashi
25 June Monday Pradosh Vrat
27 June Wednesday Vat Purnima Vrat, Purnima Upavas
28 June Thursday Jyeshtha Purnima, Kabirdas Jayanti
29 June Friday Ashadha Begins *North
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in July 2018
01 July Sunday Sankashti Chaturthi
06 July Friday Kalashtami
09 July Monday Yogini Ekadashi, Masik Karthigai
10 July Tuesday Pradosh Vrat, Rohini Vrat
11 July Wednesday Masik Shivaratri
12 July Thursday Darsha Amavasya
13 July Friday Ashadha Amavasya, Surya Grahan, Gupta Navratri Begins
14 July Saturday Chandra Darshan, Jagannath Rathyatra
16 July Monday Vinayaka Chaturthi, Karka Sankranti
17 July Tuesday Skanda Sashti
19 July Thursday Ashtahnika Vidhan Begins
20 July Friday Masik Durgashtami
23 July Monday Devshayani Ekadashi, Gauri Vrat Begins *Gujarat, Vasudeva Dwadashi
24 July Tuesday Pradosh Vrat, Jayaparvati Vrat Begins
26 July Thursday Chaumasi Chaudas
27 July Friday Kokila Vrat *Gujarat, Vyasa Puja, Ashadha Purnima, Guru Purnima, Gauri Vrat Ends *Gujarat, Purnima Upavas, Chandra Grahan, Ashtahnika Vidhan Ends
28 July Saturday Sawan Begins *North
30 July Monday Shravan Somwar Vrat *North
31 July Tuesday Jayaparvati Vrat Ends, Mangala Gauri Vrat *North, Sankashti Chaturthi
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in August 2018
03 August Friday Aadi Perukku
04 August Saturday Kalashtami
05 August Sunday Masik Karthigai
06 August Monday Shravan Somwar Vrat *North
07 August Tuesday Kamika Ekadashi, Mangala Gauri Vrat *North, Rohini Vrat
08 August Wednesday Gauna Kamika Ekadashi, Vaishnava Kamika Ekadashi
09 August Thursday Pradosh Vrat, Sawan Shivaratri
11 August Saturday Shravana Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Hariyali Amavasya, Surya Grahan, Aadi Amavasai
12 August Sunday Chandra Darshan
13 August Monday Hariyali Teej, Shravan Somwar Vrat, Andal Jayanthi
14 August Tuesday Vinayaka Chaturthi, Mangala Gauri Vrat
15 August Wednesday Nag Panchami, Independence Day
16 August Thursday Kalki Jayanti, Skanda Sashti
17 August Friday Tulsidas Jayanti, Simha Sankranti, Malayalam New Year
18 August Saturday Masik Durgashtami
20 August Monday Shravan Somwar Vrat
21 August Tuesday Mangala Gauri Vrat
22 August Wednesday Shravana Putrada Ekadashi, Damodara Dwadashi, Eid al-Adha, Bakrid
23 August Thursday Pradosh Vrat
24 August Friday Varalakshmi Vrat, Onam
25 August Saturday Rigveda Upakarma
26 August Sunday Shravana Purnima, Rakhi, Raksha Bandhan, Gayatri Jayanti, Narali Purnima, Purnima Upavas, Yajurveda Upakarma, Hayagriva Jayanti, Sanskrit Diwas
27 August Monday Gayathri Japam, Bhadrapada Begins *North
29 August Wednesday Kajari Teej
30 August Thursday Sankashti Chaturthi, Sangada Hara Chathurti *Tamil, Bol Choth *Gujarat
31 August Friday Nag Pancham *Gujarat
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in September 2018
01 September Saturday Balarama Jayanti, Randhan Chhath *Gujarat
02 September Sunday Shitala Satam *Gujarat, Bhanu Saptami, Janmashtami *Smarta, Kalashtami, Adya Kali Jayanti, Masik Karthigai, Ashtami Rohini
03 September Monday Janmashtami *ISKCON, Dahi Handi, Rohini Vrat
06 September Thursday Aja Ekadashi
07 September Friday Paryushana Parvarambha, Pradosh Vrat
08 September Saturday Masik Shivaratri
09 September Sunday Bhadrapada Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya, Pithori Amavasya, Pola, Vrishabhotsava
10 September Monday Chandra Darshan
11 September Tuesday Samaveda Upakarma
12 September Wednesday Varaha Jayanti, Hartalika Teej, Gowri Habba, Al-Hijra, Islamic New Year
13 September Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi
14 September Friday Rishi Panchami, Samvatsari Parva, Skanda Sashti
15 September Saturday Gauri Avahana
16 September Sunday Lalita Saptami, Bhanu Saptami, Durva Ashtami, Gauri Puja
17 September Monday Radha Ashtami, Masik Durgashtami, Mahalakshmi Vrat Begins, Gauri Visarjan, Kanya Sankranti, Vishwakarma Puja
20 September Thursday Parsva Ekadashi
21 September Friday Vamana Jayanti, Kalki Dwadashi, Bhuvaneshwari Jayanti, Day of Ashura, Muharram
22 September Saturday Pradosh Vrat, Shani Trayodashi
23 September Sunday Anant Chaturdashi, Ganesh Visarjan, Autumnal Equinox
24 September Monday Purnima Upavas, Purnima Shraddha
25 September Tuesday Bhadrapada Purnima, Pratipada Shraddha
26 September Wednesday Ashwin Begins *North, Dwitiya Shraddha
27 September Thursday Tritiya Shraddha
28 September Friday Maha Bharani, Chaturthi Shraddha, Sankashti Chaturthi
29 September Saturday Panchami Shraddha
30 September Sunday Shashthi Shraddha, Rohini Vrat
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in October 2018
01 October Monday Saptami Shraddha
02 October Tuesday Ashtami Shraddha, Jivitputrika Vrat, Kalashtami, Mahalakshmi Vrat Ends, Gandhi Jayanti
03 October Wednesday Navami Shraddha
04 October Thursday Dashami Shraddha
05 October Friday Indira Ekadashi, Ekadashi Shraddha
06 October Saturday Magha Shraddha, Dwadashi Shraddha, Pradosh Vrat, Shani Trayodashi
07 October Sunday Trayodashi Shraddha, Chaturdashi Shraddha, Masik Shivaratri
08 October Monday Sarvapitri Darsha Amavasya, Sarva Pitru Amavasya
09 October Tuesday Ashwin Amavasya
10 October Wednesday Chandra Darshan, Navratri Begins, Ghatasthapana, Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
12 October Friday Vinayaka Chaturthi
13 October Saturday Lalita Panchami
14 October Sunday Saraswati Avahan, Bilva Nimantran, Skanda Sashti
15 October Monday Kalparambha, Akal Bodhon
16 October Tuesday Saraswati Puja, Navpatrika Puja, Navapad Oli Begins
17 October Wednesday Saraswati Balidan, Durga Ashtami, Sandhi Puja, Maha Navami, Saraswati Visarjan, Tula Sankranti
18 October Thursday Durga Balidan, Ayudha Puja, Saraswati Poojai, Bengal Maha Navami
19 October Friday Durga Visarjan, Dussehra, Vijayadashami, Bengal Vijayadashami, Mysore Dasara, Vidyarambham Day, Buddha Jayanti, Madhvacharya Jayanti
20 October Saturday Papankusha Ekadashi
21 October Sunday Padmanabha Dwadashi
22 October Monday Pradosh Vrat
23 October Tuesday Kojagara Puja, Sharad Purnima
24 October Wednesday Ashwin Purnima, Purnima Upavas, Valmiki Jayanti, Meerabai Jayanti, Navapad Oli Ends
25 October Thursday Kartik Begins *North
27 October Saturday Atla Tadde, Karwa Chauth, Sankashti Chaturthi
28 October Sunday Rohini Vrat
31 October Wednesday Ahoi Ashtami, Radha Kunda Snan, Kalashtami
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in November 2018
03 November Saturday Rama Ekadashi
04 November Sunday Vaishnava Rama Ekadashi, Govatsa Dwadashi
05 November Monday Dhan Teras, Yama Panchak Begins, Yama Deepam, Pradosh Vrat, Kali Chaudas, Hanuman Puja, Masik Shivaratri
06 November Tuesday Narak Chaturdashi, Tamil Deepavali, Kali Puja
07 November Wednesday Diwali, Lakshmi Puja, Dipmalika, Kedar Gauri Vrat, Chopda Puja, Sharda Puja, Kamala Jayanti, Kartik Amavasya, Darsha Amavasya
08 November Thursday Chandra Darshan, Gowardhan Puja, Annakut, Bali Pratipada, Dyuta Krida, New Samvat Begins
09 November Friday Bhaiya Dooj, Yama Dwitiya
11 November Sunday Nagula Chavithi *Telugu, Vinayaka Chaturthi
12 November Monday Labh Panchami
13 November Tuesday Chhath Puja, Soora Samharam
14 November Wednesday Ashtahnika Vidhan Begins, Nehru Jayanti
16 November Friday Gopashtami, Masik Durgashtami, Vrischika Sankranti
17 November Saturday Akshaya Navami, Jagaddhatri Puja, Mandalakala Begins
18 November Sunday Kansa Vadh
19 November Monday Devutthana Ekadashi, Bhishma Panchak Begins, Yogeshwara Dwadashi, Guruvayur Ekadashi
20 November Tuesday Tulasi Vivah, Pradosh Vrat
21 November Wednesday Vaikuntha Chaturdashi, Vishweshwara Vrat, Milad an-Nabi, Id-e-Milad
22 November Thursday Manikarnika Snan, Chaumasi Chaudas, Dev Diwali, Purnima Upavas
23 November Friday Kartik Purnima, Pushkar Snan, Guru Nanak Jayanti, Bhishma Panchak Ends, Ashtahnika Vidhan Ends, Ratha Yatra
24 November Saturday Margashirsha Begins *North, Rohini Vrat
26 November Monday Sankashti Chaturthi
29 November Thursday Kalabhairav Jayanti
National and Public Holidays, Festivals & Fasts in December 2018
03 December Monday Utpanna Ekadashi
04 December Tuesday Pradosh Vrat
05 December Wednesday Masik Shivaratri
06 December Thursday Darsha Amavasya
07 December Friday Margashirsha Amavasya
08 December Saturday Chandra Darshan
11 December Tuesday Vinayaka Chaturthi
12 December Wednesday Vivah Panchami, Naga Panchami *Telugu
13 December Thursday Subrahmanya Sashti, Champa Shashthi
15 December Saturday Masik Durgashtami
16 December Sunday Dhanu Sankranti
18 December Tuesday Mokshada Ekadashi, Gita Jayanti
19 December Wednesday Gauna Mokshada Ekadashi, Vaishnava Mokshada Ekadashi, Matsya Dwadashi
20 December Thursday Pradosh Vrat, Hanuman Jayanti *Kannada, Masik Karthigai
21 December Friday Rohini Vrat
22 December Saturday Margashirsha Purnima, Dattatreya Jayanti, Purnima Upavas, Annapurna Jayanti, Tripura Bhairavi Jayanti, Shortest Day of Year
23 December Sunday Paush Begins *North, Arudra Darshan
25 December Tuesday Sankashti Chaturthi, Merry Christmas
27 December Thursday Mandala Pooja
29 December Saturday Kalashtami
4.13 avg. rating (82% score) - 23 votes

India is the land where whole year people engaged with festivals and events which make people joyful and active all time

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.