List of Indian Winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award

List of Indian Winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Magsaysay Award:- This award was instituted in memory of the Philippines President Ramon Magsaysay who died in an air crash in 1957. The awards have been given from 1958 onwards. The award carries a gold medal, $ 50,000 and a certificate a and is awarded for the following five services :

Facts about Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • Archarya Vinoba Bhave was the first Indian to win this prestigious award.
  • The only person for Political background who this award is Arvind Kejriwal.
  • Famous government officails who won this award under Government Service Category are:- Kiran Bedi, T.N. Sheshan, J.M. Lyngdoh and C.D Deshmukh.
  • Famous Indian Musicians and Vocalist who won Ramon Magsaysay Award are: Pandit Ravishankar and M.S. Subbalakshmi.
  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award named after former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay
  • It is awarded to Asian individuals and organisations for outstanding contributions in Government Service, Public Service, Community Leadership, Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts, Peace and International Understanding and Emergent Leadership
  • It is presented by Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation and was first awarded in the year 1958.
  • Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay
  • The Award is presented to them during formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31st, the birth anniversary of the much-esteemed Philippine President whose ideals inspired the Award’s creation in 1957

Winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016

Winners For:
Bezwada Wilson (India) For ‘asserting the inalienable right to life of human dignity’
T M Krishna (India) For ‘ensuring social inclusiveness in culture’
Conchita Carpio-Morales (Philippines) For ‘restoring faith in the rule of law’
Dompet Dhuafa (Indonesia) For ‘expanding the transformative impact of zakat’, which in Islam is a form of alms-giving and religious tax
Vientiane Rescue (A group from Laos) For ‘volunteering to save lives at risk’
Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers Building For contributing ‘to the reconstruction and progress of developing countries’ towards the goal of building a world of genuine solidarity

Name of Indian Recipient for the Ramon Magsaysay Award:

Year Recipient Country
2015 Sanjiv Chaturvedi Emergent Leadership
2015 Anshu Gupta Emergent Leadership
2012 Kulandei Francis Community Service
2011 Neelima Mishra Emergent Leadership
2011 Harish Hande Uncategorized
2009 Deep Joshi Uncategorized
2008 Mandakini Amte Community Leadership
2007 Palagummi Sainath Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
2006 Arvind Kejriwal Emergent Leadership
2005 V. Shantha Public Service
2004 Lakshminarayan Ramdas Peace and International Understanding
2003 James Michael Lyngdoh Government Services
2003 Shantha Sinha Government Services
2002 Sandeep Pandey Emergent Leadership
2001 Rajendra Singh Community Leadership
2000 Jockin Arputham Peace and International Understanding
2000 Aruna Roy Community Leadership
1997 Maheshweta Devi Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1996 Pandurang Athavale Community leadership
1996 Tirunellai Seshan Government Services
1994 Kiran Bedi Government Services
1993 Banoo Jehangir Coyaji Public Service
1992 Ravi Shankar Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1991 K.V. Subbanna Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1989 Lakshmi Chand Jain Public Service
1985 Muralidhar Amte Public Service
1984 Rasipuram Lakshman Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1982 Chandi Prasad Bhatt Community Leadership
1982 Manibhai Desai Public Service
1982 Arun Shourie Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1981 Gour Kishore Gosh Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1981 Pramod Karan Sethi Community Leadership
1979 Mabelle Arole Community Leadership
1979 Rajanikant Arole Community Leadership
1977 Ela Ramesh Bhatt Community Leadership
1976 Henning Holck-Larsen Peace and International Understanding
1975 Boobli George Verghese Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1974 M.S. Subbalakshmi Public Service
1971 Moncompu Sambasivan Swaminathan Community Leadership
1967 Satyajit Ray Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1966 Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay Community Leadership
1965 Jayaprakash Narayan Public Service
1964 Welthy Fisher Peace and International Understanding
1963 Dara Khurody Community Leadership
1963 Verghese  Kurien Community Leadership
1963 Tribhuvandas Patel Community Leadership
1962 Mother Teresa Peace and International Understanding
1961 Amitabha Chowdhury Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
1959 Chintaman Deshmukh Government Services
1958 Vinobha Bhave Community Leadership
2.00 avg. rating (57% score) - 1 vote

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.