List of Indian Olympic Association Presidents Since 1927 to 2018

Indian Olympic Association:

Indian Olympic Association is India’s National Olympic Committee (IOC). The work of the association is to select athletes for representing India in the Olympic Games, Asian Games and other international multi-sports competitions and to manage the Indian team. It also works like the Commonwealth Games Association, and also selects athletes for representing India in the Commonwealth Games.

Quick Info About Indian Olympic Association (IOA):

Country India
Established 1927
Headquarters New Delhi
Current President Narinder Dhruv Batra
First President Dorabji Tata
India’s position in Olympic Games:

In the Olympics, India first participated in 1900, with the sole player, who won two silver medals in athletics. In the 1920 Summer Olympics, the country sent a team for the first time and since then has participated in every Summer Games. India has participated many times in the Winter Olympics since 1964. Until the start of the 2016 Summer Olympics, there were a total of 26 medals in India’s account, which won all the Summer Games, India has not been able to win a medal in the Winter Games so far. India’s national hockey team remained dominant in the Olympics for a long time until 1920 and 1980. Out of the 12 games, India won 11 medals, 8 gold medals and won 6 gold medals consecutively from 1928 to 1956.

List of Indian Olympic Association Presidents (1927-2018):

Name Tenure
Sir Dorabji Tata 1927–1928
Maharaja Bhupinder Singh 1928–1938
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh 1938–1960
Mr. Bhalindra Singh 1960–1975
Mr. Om Prakash Mehra 1975–1980
Mr. Bhalindra Singh 1980–1984
Mr. Vidya Charan Shukla 1984–1987
Mr. Sivanthi Adithan 1987–1996
Mr. Suresh Kalmadi 1996–2011
Mr. Vijay Kumar Malhotra () 26 April 2011 – 05 December 2012
Mr. Abhay Singh Chautala 05 December 2012 – 09 February 2014
Mr. Narayana Ramachandran 09 February 2014 – 14 December 2017
Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra 14 December 2017 – Present
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.