List of Major Disasters In India

The list of major disasters in India from 1972 to 2014. the disaster is a serious disruption of the functioning of a community or a society involving widespread human, material, economic or environmental losses and impacts, which exceeds the ability of the affected community or society to cope using its own resources.

S.No. Name of Event Year State and Area
1 Drought 1972 Large part of the country
2 Cyclone 1977 Andhra Pradesh
3 Drought 1987 15 States

Latur Earthquake

1993 Latur, Marathwada region of Maharashtra

Orissa Super Cyclone

1999 Orissa

Gujarat Earthquake

2001 Rapar, Bhuj, Bhachau, Anjar,
Ahmedabad and Surat in Gujarat State
7 Tsunami 2004 Coastline of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh,
Pondicherry and Andaman and Nicobar Islands of India

Maharashtra Floods

2005 Maharashtra State

Kashmir Earthquake

2005 Mostly Pakistan, Partially Kashmir
10 Kosi Floods 2008 North Bihar
11 Cyclone Nisha 2008 Tamil Nadu
12 Drought 2009 252 districts in 10 states

Leh Cloudburst

2010 Leh, Ladakh in Jammu & Kashmir

Sikkim Earthquake

2011 North-eastern India with epicenter
near Nepal Border and Sikkim
15 Uttarakhand flash floods 2013 Uttarakhand
16 Tropical Cyclone Hudhud 2014 Andhra Pradesh, near the city of Visakhapatnam
3.89 avg. rating (77% score) - 19 votes
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.