List of Man Booker Prize Winners From Year 1969 to 2017

Man Booker Prize Winners List (1969-2017)

What is Man Booker Prize:

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Booker-McConnell Prize and commonly known simply as the Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade. From its inception, only Commonwealth, Irish, and South African citizens were eligible to receive the prize; in 2014, however, this eligibility was widened to any English-language Novel.

2017 Man Booker Prize:

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders is named winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Lincoln in the Bardo is the first full-length novel from George Saunders, internationally renowned short story writer.

The 58-year-old New York resident, born in Texas, is the second American author to win the prize in its 49-year history.

History and administration of Man Booker Prize:
The prize was originally known as the Booker–McConnell Prize, after the company Booker, McConnell Ltd began sponsoring the event in 1968; it became commonly known as the “Booker Prize” or simply “the Booker”. When administration of the prize was transferred to the Booker Prize Foundation in 2002

Complete list of winners and shortlisted authors of the Booker Prize for Fiction:

YearName of AuthorName of CountryBook Title
2017George SaundersUnited States of AmericaLincoln in the Bardo-Novel
2016Han KangSouth KoreaThe Vegetarian-Novel
2015Marlon JamesJamaicaA Brief History of Seven Killings-Novel
2014Richard FlanaganAustraliaThe Narrow Road to the Deep North-Historical Novel
2013Eleanor CattonCanada, (Born-New Zealand)The Luminaries-Historical Novel
2012Hilary MantelUnited KingdomBring Up the Bodies-Historical Novel
2011Julian BarnesUnited KingdomThe Sense of an Ending-Novel
2010Howard JacobsonUnited KingdomThe Finkler Question-Comic Novel
2009Hilary MantelUnited KingdomWolf Hall-Historical Novel
2008Aravind AdigaIndiaThe White Tiger-Novel
2007Anne EnrightIrelandThe Gathering-Novel
2006Kiran DesaiIndiaThe Inheritance of Loss-Novel
2005John BanvilleIrelandThe Sea-Novel
2004Alan HollinghurstUnited KingdomThe Line of Beauty-Historical Novel
2003DBC PierreAustraliaVernon God Little-Black comedy
2002Yann MartelCanadaLife of Pi-Fantasy and adventure Novel
2001Peter CareyAustraliaTrue History of the Kelly Gang-Historical Novel
2000Margaret AtwoodCanadaThe Blind Assassin-Historical Novel
1999J. M. CoetzeeSouth AfricaDisgrace-Novel
1998Ian McEwanUnited KingdomAmsterdam-Novel
1997Arundhati RoyIndiaThe God of Small Things-Novel
1996Graham SwiftUnited KingdomLast Orders-Novel
1995Pat BarkerUnited KingdomThe Ghost Road-War Novel
1994James KelmanUnited KingdomHow Late It Was, How Late-Stream of consciousness
1993Roddy DoyleIrelandPaddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha-Novel
1992Michael OndaatjeCanadaThe English Patient-Historiographic metafiction
1992Barry UnsworthUnited KingdomSacred Hunger-Historical Novel
1991Ben OkriNigeriaThe Famished Road-Magic realism
1990A. S. ByattUnited KingdomPossession-Historical Novel
1989Kazuo IshiguroUnited KingdomThe Remains of the Day-Historical Novel
1988Peter CareyAustraliaOscar and Lucinda-Historical Novel
1987Penelope LivelyUnited KingdomMoon Tiger-Novel
1986Kingsley AmisUnited KingdomThe Old Devils-Comic Novel
1985Keri HulmeNew ZealandThe Bone People-Mystery Novel
1984Anita BrooknerUnited KingdomHotel du Lac-Novel
1983J. M. CoetzeeSouth AfricaLife and Times of Michael K- Novel South Africa
1982Thomas KeneallyAustraliaSchindler’s Ark-Biographical Novel
1981Salman RushdieUnited KingdomMidnight’s Children-Magic realism
1980William GoldingUnited KingdomRites of Passage-Novel
1979Penelope FitzgeraldUnited KingdomOffshore-Novel
1978Iris MurdochIreland (Born-United Kingdom)The Sea, the Sea-Philosophical Novel
1977Paul ScottUnited KingdomStaying On-Novel
1976David StoreyUnited KingdomSaville-Novel
1975Ruth Prawer JhabvalaUnited Kingdom (Born-Germany)Heat and Dust-Historical Novel
1974Nadine GordimerSouth AfricaThe Conservationist-Novel
1974Stanley MiddletonUnited KingdomHoliday-Novel
1973J. G. FarrellUnited Kingdom (Born-Ireland)The Siege of Krishnapur-Novel
1972John BergerUnited KingdomG.-Experimental Novel
1971V. S. NaipaulUnited Kingdom (Born- Trinidad and Tobago)In a Free State-Short story
1970J. G. FarrellUnited Kingdom (Born- Ireland)Troubles-Novel
1970Bernice RubensUnited KingdomThe Elected Member-Novel
1969P. H. NewbyUnited KingdomSomething to Answer For-Novel
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.