List of Param Vir Chakra Recipients India

Param Vir Chakra– The highest decoration for velour, it is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or prominent act of velour, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

What is Param Vir Chakra?

Param Vir Chakra is the highest military ornamentation of India, which is provided in the presence of enemies in the form of high quality bravery and sacrifice.

Who give Param Vir Chakra?

The Government of India give this Award to those who fought for India specifically.

Who designed Param Vir Chakra?

The Award of Param Vir Chakra (PVC) was designed by Savitri Khanolkar, whose daughter’s brother-in-law, Major Somnath Sharma.

Quick Facts To Know About Param Vir Chakra:-

  • Established – 26 January 1950
  • First Awarded – 3rd November 1947
  • Last Awarded – 6th July 1999
  • First Recipient – Somnath Sharma
  • Last Recipient – Vikram Batra
  • Total Awardee – 21
  • Next Highest Award – Bharat Ratna

Below is the list of all awardees of Param Vir Chakra:

Recipient Name Regiment Date
Major Som Nath Sharma 4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment November 3, 1947
Lance Naik Karam Singh 1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment October 13, 1948
Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba Rane Corps of Engineers April 8, 1948
Naik Jadu Nath Singh 1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment February 1948
Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat 6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles 17 July 1948
Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria 3rd Battalion, 1st Gorkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment) December 5, 1961
Major Dhan Singh Thapa 1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles October 20, 1962
Subedar Joginder Singh 1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment October 23, 1962
Major Shaitan Singh 13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment November 18, 1962
Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid 4th Battalion, The Grenadiers September 10, 1965
Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore 17th Poona Horse October 15, 1965
Lance Naik Albert Ekka 14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards December 3, 1971
Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon No.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force December 14, 1971
2/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal 17th Poona Horse December 16, 1971
Major Hoshiar Singh 3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers December 17, 1971
Naib Subedar Bana Singh 8th Battalion, Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry June 23, 1987
Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran 8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment November 25, 1987
Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey 1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles July 3, 1999
Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav 18th Battalion, The Grenadiers July 4, 1999
Rifleman Sanjay Kumar 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles July 5, 1999
Captain Vikram Batra 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles July 6, 1999
4.28 avg. rating (84% score) - 18 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.