Lok Sabha Speaker List of Parliament of India – Since 1947

List of Speaker of Lok Shabha in India:

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India. His/her role is similar to that of Speakers elsewhere in other countries that use the Westminster system of government. The speaker is elected in the very first meeting of the Lok Sabha following general elections. Serving for a term of 5 years, he/she is chosen from amongst the members of the Lok Sabha, and is by convention a member of the ruling party or alliance.

The current speaker is Sumitra Mahajan of the Bharatiya Janata Party, who is presiding over the 16th Lok Sabha. She is the second woman to hold the office, after her immediate predecessor Meira Kumar. Ganesh Vasudev Mavalanka became the first speaker of the Lok Sabha on 15th May 1952.

Powers and functions of the Speaker:

The Speaker (President) of the Lok Sabha conducts the business in house. He/She decides whether a bill is a money bill or not. He/She maintains discipline and decorum in the house and can punish a member for their unruly behaviour by suspending them. He/She permits the moving of various kinds of motions and resolutions like the motion of no confidence, motion of adjournment, motion of censure and calling attention notice as per the rules. The Speaker decides on the agenda to be taken up for discussion during the meeting. The date of election of speaker is fixed by the President. Further, all comments and speeches made by members of the House are addressed to the speaker. The speaker also presides over the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament. The counterpart of the Speaker in the Rajya Sabha is the Chairman, who is the Vice President of India. In the warrant of precedence, the speaker of Lok Sabha comes next only to The Deputy Prime Minister of India. Speaker has the sixth rank in the political executive of India.

Removal of the Speaker:

Speaker can be removed by the Lok Sabha by a resolution passed by a majority of all the then members of the House per Articles 94 and 96.

Speaker is also removed on getting disqualified for being Lok Sabha member under sections 7 & 8 of Representation of the People Act, 1951. This would arise out of speaker’s wrong certification of a bill as money bill inconsistent with the definition given in Articles 110 of the constitution. When courts uphold the unconstitutional act of the speaker for wrong certification of a bill as money bill, it amounts to disrespecting the constitution deserving conviction under Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971 which is applicable for disqualification of speaker’s Lok Sabha membership under section 8k of Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Protem Speaker:

After a general election and the formation of a new government, a list of senior Lok Sabha members prepared by the Legislative Section is submitted to the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, who selects a protem speaker. The appointment has to be approved by the president.

The first meeting after the election when the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are selected by members of the Parliament is held under the pro tem Speaker. In absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker acts as Speaker and in the absence of both a committee of six member selected by the Speaker will act as Speaker according to their seniority.

List of Lok Sabha Speakers (1952-2017) of India:-

Name Tenure Political Party
Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar 15-May-52 to 27-Feb-56 Indian National Congress
M. A. Ayyangar 8-Mar-56 to 10-May-57 Indian National Congress
Sardar Hukam Singh 11-May-57 to 16-Apr-62 and 17-Apr-62 to 16-Mar-67 Indian National Congress
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 17-Mar-67 to 19-Jul-69 Indian National Congress
Gurdial Singh Dhillon 8-Aug-69 to 19-Mar-71 and 22-Mar-71 to 1-Dec-75 Indian National Congress
Bali Ram Bhagat 15-Jan-76 to 25-Mar-77 Indian National Congress
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 26-Mar-77 to 13-Jul-77 Janata Party
K. S. Hegde 21-Jul-77 to 21-Jan-80 Janata Party
Balram Jakhar 22-Jan-80 to 27-Oct-84 and 16-Jan-85 to 18-Dec-89 Indian National Congress
Rabi Ray 19-Dec-89 to 9-Jul-91 Janata Dal
Shivraj Patil 10-Jul-91 to 22-May-96 Indian National Congress
P. A. Sangma 23-May-96 to 23-Mar-98 Indian National Congress
G. M. C. Balayogi 24-Mar-98 to 19-Oct-99 and 22-Oct-99 to 3-Mar-02 Telugu Desam Party
Manohar Joshi 10-May-02 to 2-Jun-04 Shiv Sena
Somnath Chatterjee 4-Jun-04 to 31-May-09 Communist Party of India
Meira Kumar 4-Jun-09 to 4-Jun-14 Indian National Congress
Sumitra Mahajan 5-Jun-14 to Incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party
3.50 avg. rating (70% score) - 8 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.