List of Chief Justice of India Appointed (Former and Current)

List of Chief Justices of India Since 1950 Till Date

India has a single judicial system which has brought about not only jurisdictional unity, but also the establishment of a single judicial cadre, as it were, for the whole country.

Since the birth of the Republic of India on 26 January 1950, 46 people have served as the Chief Justice of India (CJI). Justice Ranjan Gogoi takes oath as the 46th Chief Justice of India on 03 October 2018 succeeding Chief Justice Dipak Misra in India’s top court. Justice J. S. Khehar was the first Sikh CJI of India.

H. J. Kania was the first Chief Justices of India. Justice Y. V. Chandrachud is the longest serving Chief Justice (February 1978 – July 1985).

Appointment of Supreme Court Judge in India:
The Supreme court Judges in India are appointed by the President on the advice of his Council of Ministers and in consultation with such persons as he deems fit. In the appointment of the Chief Justice, the President consults such judges of the Supreme Court and High courts as he thinks necessary.

The Constitution envisages an independent Supreme Court. The independence of the judges is ensured by the following provisions (Article 124):

(1) Every judge of the Supreme Court is appointed by the President of India after consultation with such judges of the Supreme Court and of High Courts of the States as the President may deem necessary for the purpose. But in the appointment of a judge, other than a Chief Justice, consultation with the Chief Justice of India by the President is obligatory.
(2) The elimination of politics in the appointment of judges is further achieved by prescribing the minimum qualifications in the Constitution itself.
(3) A judge of the Supreme Court, once appointed, holds office until he completes the age of sixty-five years.
(4) A retired judge is prohibited from practising law before any court in India.
(5) A Supreme Court judge can be removed from office by an order of the President only on the grounds of proved misbehaviour or incapacity after a resolution for the purpose is passed by both Houses of Parliament supported by a majority of the total membership of the House and a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members present and voting.
(6) The conditions of service of a judge cannot be altered to his disadvantage after his appointment.
(7) The independence of the judges is further safeguarded by making all their actions and decisions taken in their official capacity, immune from criticism and also providing for an establishment over which the Court has complete control.

Qualifications : Article 124(3) provides for the qualifications required for appointment as a Judge of the Supreme Court. The qualifications are :
(a) The person should be a citizen of India; and
(b) He/She should have been for at least five years a Judge of a High Court or of two or more such Courts in succession; or
(c) He/She has been for at least ten years an advocate of a High Court or of two or more such courts in succession; or
(d) He/She is, in the opinion of the President, a distinguished jurist.

There is not fixed tenure of a Chief Justice of India while there isn’t age limit for the retirement of Chief Justice of America.

We have 43 Chief Justice of India in 64 years while in America, there are less than us in 238 years.
The longest tenure of a CJI is 2696 days (almost 7 years and 5 months).
The shortest tenure of a CJI is 17 days.
There are 56893 cases are due in the supreme of India by the date of 30 April, 2014.

List of appointed Chief Justices of India:

Number Name Term Began Term End Bar Appointed By
1 H. J. Kania 26-Jan-50 6-Nov-51 Bombay High Court Rajendra Prasad
2 M. Patanjali Sastri 7-Nov-51 3-Jan-54 Madras High Court
3 Mehr Chand Mahajan 4-Jan-54 22-Dec-54 East Punjab High Court
4 Bijan Kumar Mukherjea 23-Dec-54 31-Jan-56 Calcutta High Court
5 Sudhi Ranjan Das 1-Feb-56 30-Sep-59 Calcutta High Court
6 Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha 1-Oct-59 31-Jan-64 Patna High Court
7 Prahlad Balacharya Gajendragadkar 1-Feb-64 15-Mar-66 Bombay High Court Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
8 Amal Kumar Sarkar 16-Mar-66 29-Jun-66 Calcutta High Court
9 Koka Subba Rao 30-Jun-66 11-Apr-67 Madras High Court
10 Kailas Nath Wanchoo 12-Apr-67 24-Feb-68 Allahabad High Court
11 Mohammad Hidayatullah[2] 25-Feb-68 16-Dec-70 Bombay High Court Zakir Hussain
12 Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah 17-Dec-70 21-Jan-71 Bombay High Court Varahagiri Venkata Giri
13 Sarv Mittra Sikri 22-Jan-71 25-Apr-73 Lahore High Court
14 Ajit Nath Ray 26-Apr-73 27-Jan-77 Calcutta High Court
15 Mirza Hameedullah Beg 28-Jan-77 21-Feb-78 Allahabad High Court Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
16 Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud 22-Feb-78 11-Jul-85 Bombay High Court Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
17 Prafullachandra Natwarlal Bhagwati 12-Jul-85 20-Dec-86 Gujarat High Court Gyani Zail Singh
18 Raghunandan Swarup Pathak 21-Dec-86 18-Jun-89 Allahabad High Court
19 Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah 19-Jun-89 17-Dec-89 Karnataka High Court Ramaswamy Venkataraman
20 Sabyasachi Mukharji 18-Dec-89 25-Sep-90 Calcutta High Court
21 Ranganath Misra 26-Sep-90 24-Nov-91 Orissa High Court
22 Kamal Narain Singh 25-Nov-91 12-Dec-91 Allahabad High Court
23 Madhukar Hiralal Kania 13-Dec-91 17-Nov-92 Bombay High Court
24 Lalit Mohan Sharma 18-Nov-92 11-Feb-93 Patna High Court Shankar Dayal Sharma
25 Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah 12-Feb-93 24-Oct-94 Karnataka High Court
26 Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi 25-Oct-94 24-Mar-97 Gujarat High Court
27 Jagdish Sharan Verma 25-Mar-97 17-Jan-98 Madhya Pradesh High Court
28 Madan Mohan Punchhi 18-Jan-98 9-Oct-98 Punjab and Haryana High Court Kocheril Raman Narayanan
29 Adarsh Sein Anand 10-Oct-98 11-Jan-01 Jammu and Kashmir High Court
30 Sam Piroj Bharucha 11-Jan-01 6-May-02 Bombay High Court
31 Bhupinder Nath Kirpal 6-May-02 8-Nov-02 Delhi High Court
32 Gopal Ballav Pattanaik 8-Nov-02 19-Dec-02 Orissa High Court A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
33 V. N. Khare 19-Dec-02 2-May-04 Allahabad High Court
34 S. Rajendra Babu 2-May-04 1-Jun-04 Karnataka High Court
35 Ramesh Chandra Lahoti 1-Jun-04 1-Nov-05 Madhya Pradesh High Court
36 Yogesh Kumar Sabharwal 1-Nov-05 13-Jan-07 Delhi High Court
37 K. G. Balakrishnan 13-Jan-07 11-May-10 Kerala High Court
38 S. H. Kapadia 12-May-10 28-Sep-12 Bombay High Court Pratibha Patil
39 Altamas Kabir 29-Sep-12 18-Jul-13 Calcutta High Court Pranab Mukherjee
40 P. Sathasivam 19-Jul-13 26-Apr-14 Madras High Court
41 Rajendra Mal Lodha 27-Apr-14 27-Sep-14 Rajasthan High Court
42 H. L. Dattu 28-Sep-14 2-Dec-15 Karnataka High Court
43 Teerath Singh Thakur 3-Dec-15 3-Jan-17 Jammu and Kashmir High Court
44 Jagdish Singh Khekar 4-Jan-17 27-Aug-2017 Punjab and Haryana High Court
45 Justice Dipak Mishra 28-Aug-17 02 October 2018 Odisha High Court Ram Nath Kovind
46 Justice Ranjan Gogoi 03-Oct-2018 Incumbent Gauhati High Court Ram Nath Kovind

Note: This List last updated on: 17 December 2018

Related Source:

4.18 avg. rating (82% score) - 11 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.