Name of Indian Republic Day Chief Guests Since Year 1950 to 2018

Name of Indian Republic Day Chief Guests  (26th January Parades): Since 1950, India has been hosting head of state or government of another country as the state guest of honour for Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi. Since 1955 parade is being presenting at Rajpath. The guest country is chosen after a deliberation of strategic, economic and political interests. Heads of ASEAN states will be the chief guest at the 69th Republic Day 2018.

Following is the list of all Chief guest invited to attend Republic Day Parade of India (26th January) since 1950 to 2018:

Year Chief Guest Name Country
2018 Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah Brunei (ASEAN)
2018 Hun Sen (Prime Minister) Cambodia (ASEAN)
2018 Joko Widodo (President) Indonesia (ASEAN)
2018 Najib Razak (Prime Minister) Malaysia (ASEAN)
2018 Thongloun Sisoulith (Prime Minister) Laos (ASEAN)
2018 Daw Aung San Suu Kyi (State Counsellor) Myanmar (ASEAN)
2018 Rodrigo Roa Duterte (President) Philippines (ASEAN)
2018 Prayuth Chan-ocha (Prime Minister) Thailand (ASEAN)
2018 Lee Hsien Loong (Prime Minister) Singapore (ASEAN)
2018 Nguyễn Xuân Phúc (Prime Minister) Vietnam (ASEAN)
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan Abu Dhabi
2016 Francois Hollande France
2015 Barack Obama (President) United States of America
2014 Shinzo Abe (Prime Minister) Japan
2013 Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2012 Yingluck Shinawatra First Female Prime Minister of Thailand Thailand
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2010 President Lee Myung Bak Republic of Korea
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
1998 President Jacques Chirac France
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1988 President Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1987 President Alan Garcia Peru
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1974 President Josip Broz Tito and Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike Yugoslavia Sri Lanka
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1969 Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1968 Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin and President Josip Broz Tito Soviet Union Yugoslavia
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1961 Queen Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1960 President Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying People’s Republic of China
1955 Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad (first guest for parade at Rajpath) Pakistan
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1950 President Sukarno Indonesia
4.15 avg. rating (82% score) - 62 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.