Name of Parliaments of the famous countries in the World

Name of Parliament of different countries in the World

Parliament names of different countries – In any democratic form of government the supreme legislative body is called as Parliament. It is also the executive governing body of the country. Parliament, Congress, National Assembly etc are the common names used to represent this legislative body. Most of the Islamic countries use “Shora” or “Majlis” as the name of their parliament. The Legislature can be Unicameral or Bicameral. Samller countries with small constituencies may prefer Unicameral legislature but bigger countries generally have Bicameral type legislature. In Bicameral legislature the Parliament have two houses- the Lower House and the Upper House. The members of lower house are generally directly elected from citizens while members of Upper house are generally nominated. The term of service of Lower and Upper houses may or may not be same.

Name of parliaments of all famous countries in the World.

Country Name of Parliament
Afghanistan Shoora
Andorra General Council
Albania People’s Assembly
Azerbaijan Melli Majlis
Algeria National People’s Assembly
Angola National People’s Assembly
Argentina National Congress
Australia Federal Parliament
Austria National Assembly
Bahamas General Assembly
Bahrain Consultative Council
Bangladesh Jatiya Sansad
Belize National Assembly
Bhutan Tshogdu
Bolivia National Congress
Brazil National Congress
Brunei National Assembly
Botswana National Assembly
Britain Parliment (House of Common’s & House of Lords)
Bulgaria Narodno Subranie.
Cambodia National Assembly
Congo Democratic Rep. of National Legislative Council
Colombia Congress
Canada Parliament
China National People’s Congress
Chile Chamber of Deputies and Senate
Comoros Legislative Council and Senate
Costa Rice Legislative Council and Senate
Crotia Sabor
Cuba National Assembly of People’s Power
Czech Republic Chamber of Deputies and Senate
Denmark Folketing
Ecuador Natinal Congress
El Salvador Legislative Assembly
East Timor Constituent Assembly
Ethiopia Federal Council and House of Representative
Egypt People’s Assembly
Fiji Islands Senate & House of Representative
France National Assembly
Finland Eduskusta (Parliament)
Germany Bundestag(LowerHouse),Bundesrat(UpperHouse)
Guyana National Assembly
Greece Chamber of Deputies
Hungary National Assembly
Iceland Althing
India Parliament
Indonesia People’s Consultative Assembly
Iran Majlis
Iraq National Assembly
Israel Knesset
Italy Chamber of Deputies and Senate
Japan Diet
Jordan National Assembly
Korea(North) Supreme People’s Assembly
Korea(South) National Assembly
Kuwait National Assembly
Kenya National Assembly
Laos People’s Supreme Assembly
Labanon National Assembly
Lesotho National Assembly and Senate
Lithuania Seimas
Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies
Liberia National Assembly
Libya General People’s Congress
Malaysia Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara
Maldives Majlis Madagascar-National People’s Assembly
Mongolia Great People’s Khural
Montenegro Federal Assembly
Mozambique People’s Assembly
Myanmar Pyithu Hluttaw
Nepal National Panchayat
Netherlands The State General
Norway Storting
New Zealand Parliament (House of Representative)
Oman Monarchy
Pakistan National Assembly & Senate
Paraguay Senate & Chamber of Deputies
Philippines The Congress
Papua New Guinea National Parliament
Poland Sejm
Romania Great National Assembly
Russia Duma & Federal Council
Serbia Federal Assembly
Senegal National Assembly
Seychelles People’s Assembly
Somalia People’s Assembly
South Africa Rep. House of Assembly
Spain Cortes
Sweden Riksdag
Saudi Arabia Majlis Al Shura
Sudan National Assembly
Switzerland Federal Assembly
Syria People’s Council
Turkey Grand National Assembly
Tunisia National Assembly
USA Congress
Vietnam National Assembly
Venezuela National Congress
Zaire National Legislative Council
Zambia National Assembly
3.43 avg. rating (69% score) - 7 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.