National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA)

The National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) is a national level examination conducted by National Institute of Advanced Studies in Architecture (NIASA), an academic unit formed by the Council of Architecture, New Delhi. NATA scores serve as a major criterion for admission to undergraduate courses in Architecture during admission in many universities and institutes together with the state level universities.

Based on its results, students are admitted to the first year of a 5-year Bachelor of Architecture (B. Arch) degree. The Central Government hosts the National Aptitude Test in Architecture in order to impart scholarship to the poor candidates. Students from the rural area get benefited from this exam. The acceptance ratio is less, as the number of students is very high as compared to the seats available.

NATA is conducted from 1st January to 30th September each year at authorized testing centers across India. Students have to fix his appointment before hand and they can appear for NATA multiple times, if required.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Students with a minimum of 50% aggregate marks in 12th and having studied mathematics as a subject are eligible. In addition, candidates with a diploma from a recognized institute with at least 50% aggregate marks can apply.
  • Students who have International Baccalaureate Diploma with a minimum of 50% aggregate marks and having Mathematics as a subject can also apply.
  • The students must be resident of India and should have a minimum age of seventeen years as on 01st of July in the year of the entrance test.
  • Students should be physically and mentally fit.

How to Apply?:

Students have to fill a pre-registration form available at the NATA website The form is also available at authorized test centers. Students are then required to fix a prior appointment with the test center by paying the test fees. Students are given receipt cum appointment voucher mentioning the date and time given by the Test Center.

The test has two sections. First section is a paper based Drawing test having 3 questions. Test duration is two hours and total marks are 100. Second section is an online computer based test having questions on aesthetic sensitivity. This is also a 100 marks test and duration is one hour. The minimum marks required for qualifying are 80 out of 200.

After the completion of degree, enormous opportunities await the candidates in the field of Architecture.

3.00 avg. rating (61% score) - 7 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.