NITI Aayog

National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog that replaced Planning Commission (It was set up on the 15th of March, 1950 through a Cabinet Resolution) on 1st January 2015 is a policy Think-Tank of government and aims to involve the states in economic policy-making in India. This comes after extensive consultation across the spectrum of stakeholders, including state governments, domain experts and relevant institutions. It will provide strategic and technical advice to the central and the state governments. Prime Minister of India will lead the Aayog as its chairperson.

The centre-to-state one-way flow of policy is now sought to be replaced by a genuine and continuing partnership of states that was the hallmark of the Planning Commission. It will provide with relevant strategic and technical advice across the spectrum of key elements of policy. It will also seek to put an end to slow and tardy implementation of policy, by fostering better Inter-Ministry and better Centre-State co-ordinations. It will help to evolve a shared vision of national development priorities, and foster cooperative federalism, recognizing that strong states make a strong Nation.

The NITI Aayog will also develop mechanisms to formulate credible plans to the village level and aggregate the plans progressively at higher levels of government. It will ensure special attention to the sections of society that may be at risk of not benefiting adequately from economic progress. It will create a knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community of national and international experts, practitioners and partners. It will offer a platform for resolution of inter-sectional and inter-departmental issues in order to accelerate the implementation of the development agenda, will monitor and evaluate the implementation of programmes and focus on technology up gradation and capacity building.

NITI Aayog is an administration paradigm in which the Government is an “enabler” rather than a “provider of first and last resort.” It will Progress from “food security” to focus on a mix of agricultural production, as well as actual returns that farmers get from their produce and ensure that India is an active player in the debates and deliberations on the global commons. It will ensure that the economically vibrant middle-class remains engaged, and its potential is fully realized. It will add in the significant geo-economic and geo-political strength of the Non-Resident Indian Community. It will use urbanization as an opportunity to create a wholesome and secure habitat through the use of modern technology and it will use technology to reduce dullness and prospective for misadventures in governance.

The NITI Aayog aims to enable India to better face complex challenges, through leveraging of India’s demographic dividend, and realization of the potential of youth, men and women, through education, skill development, elimination of gender bias, and employment. It will work for elimination of poverty and will create the chance for every Indian to live a life of dignity and self-respect. It will redress the inequalities based on gender bias, caste and economic disparities and will integrate villages institutionally into the development process. The Aayog will make policies to support to more than 50 million small businesses, which are a major source of employment creation and will ensure the safeguarding of our environmental and ecological assets.

The NITI Aayog comprises of the following:

  1. Prime Minister of India as the Chairperson
  2. The Chief Ministers of all the States and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories
  3. Regional Councils will be formed to address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region. These will be formed for a specified tenure. The Regional Councils will be convened by the Prime Minister and will comprise of the Chief Ministers of States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories in the region. These will be chaired by the Chairperson of the NITI Aayog or his nominee
  4. Experts, specialists and practitioners with relevant domain knowledge as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister
  5. Full-time organizational framework comprising of:
    1. Vice-Chairperson (appointed by the Prime Minister)
    2. Two Full-time members
    3. Part-time members: Maximum of two from leading universities research organizations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity. Part time members will be on a rotational basis
    4. Ex Officio members: Maximum of four members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the Prime Minister
    5. Chief Executive Officer (appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India)
    6. Secretariat as deemed necessary

Present Members:

  1. Chairperson: Prime Minister Narendra Modi
  2. Vice Chairperson: Arvind Panagariya
  3. Ex-Officio Members: Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh
  4. Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot
  5. Full-time Members: Bibek Debroy & V. K. Saraswat
  6. Governing Council: All Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories
  7. CEO: Sindhushree Khullar
3.60 avg. rating (72% score) - 5 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.