List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners till 2018

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest honor given in the sports world of India. This award was named after former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. This Award was started between 1991-92. This award was established for the appreciate indian players for their awareness and achievement in sports.

GK About Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Category Game
Establishment year 1991-92
Prize money 7,50,000
First winner Viswanathan Anand
Last winner Saikhom Mirabai Chanu (weightlifting) and Virat Kohli (cricket)

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Winners 2018:

The Indian cricket team captain and one of the world’s finest players Virat Kohli and world champion weightlifter Mirabai Chanu have been selected for the 2018 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Kohli has been running in the best form since last 3 years. He was earlier nominated for this award in 2016 and 2017. Chanu has been selected for this prestigious award due to winning the gold medal in 48 kg in the World Championship last year.

Prize Money:

This award includes a certificate and a cash prize along with a medal. Till to 2005 the Prize money was 5 Lakh, but after 2005 it has been increased and now the Prize Money of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is 7 Lakh.

List of Recipients of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award since 1991 to 2018

Year Recipient Discipline (Sports)
2018 Saikhom Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2018 Virat Kohli Cricket
2017 Devendra Jhajharia Paralympic athletics
2017 Sardara Singh Hockey (Men)
2016 P. V. Sindhu Badminton
2016 Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
2016 Jitu Rai Shooting
2016 Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2014 No award
2013 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2009 Mary Kom Boxing (Women)
2009 Vijender Singh Boxing
2009 Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2008 No award
2007 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2002 K. M. Beenamol Athletics
2002 Anjali Bhagwat Shooting
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2000–2001 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
1999–2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey (Men)
1998–1999 Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
1997–1998 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1996–1997 Leander Paes Tennis
1995–1996 Nameirakpam Kunjarani Weightlifting
1994–1995 Karnam Malleswari Weightlifting
1993–1994 Homi Motivala Yachting (Team event)
1993–1994 Pushpendra Kumar Garg Yachting (Team event)
1992–1993 Geet Sethi Billiards
1991–1992 Viswanathan Anand Chess

Important note:

  1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was not given to anyone in the year 2008.
  2. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was not given to anyone in the year 2014.
5.00 avg. rating (87% score) - 1 vote

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.