Representation of Indian states and Union Territories in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha

This post describes some information about Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha of India. The Parliament of India consists the President, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha according to Article 79.

The  table below shows the no. of representatives of Indian states and Union territories in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha (meaning the “Council of States”) is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership is limited to 250 members, 12 of whom are chosen by the President of India for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services. These members are known as nominated members. The remainder of the body is elected from the states and the Union Territories by the method of indirect election.

Representation of states and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha

State No. State / UT No.
Andhra Pradesh 18 Gujarat 11
Assam 7 Himachal Pradesh 3
Goa 1 Karnataka 12
Haryana 5 Madhya Pradesh 11
Jammu & Kashmir 4 Manipur 1
Kerala 9 Nagaland 1
Maharashtra 19 Punjab 7
Meghalaya 1 Orissa 10
Rajasthan 10 Sikkim 1
Tamil Nadu 18 Tripura 1
West Bengal 16 Arunachal Pradesh 1
Mizoram 1 Uttarakhand 3
Jharkhand 6 ———– ——-
Uttar Pradesh 31 Union Territories ———
Bihar 16 Delhi 3
Chhattisgarh 5 Puduchery 1

The Lok Sabha,  the lower house of the Parliament of India (also titled the ‘House of the People’, by the Constitution) is directly elected by the peoples of India. As of 2009 there have been fifteenth Lok Sabhas elected by the people of India. The Constitution limits the Lok Sabha to a maximum of 552 members, including no more than 20 members representing people from the Union Territories, and two members to represent the Anglo-Indian community (if the President feels that the community is not adequately represented). The normal term of Lok Sabha is 5 years but it can be dissolved earlier by the President of India.

Representation of States and Union Territories in the Lok Sabha

State No State /UT No
Andhra Pradesh 42 Uttar Pradesh 80
Assam 14 Bihar 40
Goa 2 Gujarat 26
Haryana 10 Himachal Pradesh 4
Jammu & Kashmir 6 Karnataka 28
Kerala 20 Madhya Pradesh 29
Maharashtra 48 Manipur 2
Meghalaya 2 Nagaland 1
Orissa 21 Punjab 13
Rajasthan 25 ——————— ——–
Sikkim 1 ———————– ——–
Tamil Nadu 39 Union Territories ——–
Tripura 2 Delhi 7
West Bengal 42 Puducherry 1
Arunachal Pradesh 2 Chandigarh 1
Mizoram 1 Lakshadweep 1
Uttarakhand 5 Dadra & Nagar Haveli 1
Jharkhand 14 Daman & Diu 1
Chhattisgarh 11 Andaman & Nicobar 1
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.