Various Awards and Prizes Presented for the year 2013

Below are the details of awards and prizes distributed and given in July 2013 for various fields and work:

BRIT ICON AWARD: Singer Elton John is set to be the first recipient of a new Brit Icon award, given for his lasting impact for his lasting impact on the nation’s culture. The Rocket Man hitmaker will maker will be given the honour at a show in September and then it will become an annual fixture, given to an artist who has had a similar impact on UK culture.

UN EDU AWARD ON MALALA DAY: Two Indian were among the seven young girls honoured with the UN Special Envoy for Global Education’s Youth Courage Award for Education as part of Malala Day Celebrations at the world body on July 12. The awardees were from India (Ashwini form Bangalore and Razia from Uttar Pradesh), Pakistan (Shazia), Bangladesh, Nepal, Morocco and Sierra Leone.

UK HONOUR TO V.K. MENON: The UK government on July 17 honoured V.K. Krishna Menon, India’s first high commissioner to the Court of St. James’ and former defence minister, by fixing a Blue Plaque on the house where he lived when he moved to the city for the first Benn, whose father Williams Wedgwood Benn was secretary of state for India from 1929 to 1931 when Menon was campaigning for Indian independence in Britain, and V.K. Krishna Menon Institute director Cyriac Maprayli.

UN AWARDS KIDMAN: Nicole Kidman, who was appointed as the women goodwill ambassador by the UN to Promote women’s right worldwide, has been honoured with a humanitarian award from the cinema for peace foundation for her contributons. Puri at an event in Berlinn whose government is among UN Women’s leading donors, on July 12.

MILKHA HONOURED: Legendary Indian athlete Milkha Singh was honoured for his services sports at a special event at the House of Lords. House of Lords member and NRI Industrialist Lord Swraj Paul presented the honour to ‘The Flying Sikh,’ who is in London on a promotional tour for the Movie “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag” based on his life story.

NATIONAL YOUTH AWARD: President Pranab Mukherjee on July 4 conferred the National Youth Awards 2011-12 on 27 individuals and one organisation at Rashtrapati Bhawan. The National Youth Awards, instituted in 1985, are given each year to youth who have demonstrably in youth work in different fields of youth development activities and social service. The award carries a silver medal, a certificate and a cash prize of Ra40,000 in case of individual awardees and Rs2 lakh for voluntary organisation. Among the awardees, 11 are from the northern region.

TAGORE AWARD: Zubin Mehta werstern classical music conductor of Indian-Parsi Origin, will be felicitated with the Tagore award for his outstanding contribution to Cultural Harmony. The first Tagore award was conferred on sitar maestro Pandit Ravi Shankar in 2012.

PREM BHATIYA AWARD: Shalini Singh, a Deputy Editor with The Hindu, has bagged the prestigious Prem Bhatia Award for political Reporting-2013. She has been selected for her ‘excellent coverage of several key issues,’ particularly her ‘reporting of the telecom and Coalgate scadals.’

RAMNATH GOENKA AWARDS: The sixth Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards ceremony held on July 23 in New Delhi presence of Chief Justice of India P. Sathasivam. The awards, in 29 categories, were given for work done in 2010. The awardees include Josy Joseph of The Times of India with the Journalist of the year (Print) award, Ravish Kumar of NDTV India with the Journalist of the Year (Broadcast) award Inder of NDTV India with the Journalism of the year (Broadcast) award, Inder Marhotra with the Lifetime Achievement award and others.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.