Vice Presidents of India with Names, Tenure, Important Facts

List of Appointed Vice Presidents of India Since 1952 to 2017:

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest ranking government official in the executive branch of the Government of India after the President. The Vice-President also has the legislative function of acting as the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Article 63 of the Constitution of India provides for a Vice-President: “There shall be a Vice-President of India”. While the Indian Vice-President could be elected for any number of terms, the Constitution requires that the Vice-President must be a citizen of India. The qualifications for Vice-President are the same as those for President.

The Vice-President acts as President in the event of the death, resignation, or removal of the President, until a new President is chosen by the electoral college. The Vice-President may also act temporarily as President during the absence or illness of the President.

Also Read: Latest Who is Who 2016

Eligibility to become Vice-President of India:

  • He must be a citizen of India.
  • He should not be less than of 35 years.
  • Must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He should not hold any office of profit.

Term of Office: Vice-President is elected for 5 years and is eligible for immediate re- election. However he can be terminated before his tenure through these methods:

  • Resignation to be addressed to the president
  • Removal- by a resolution of the council of states passed by the majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha.

Important Facts about Vice Presidents of India

  • The first Vice President of India was Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan. He served twice as the Vice President of India from year 1952 to 1962. He was elected first in year 1952 and then after serving first term, got elected again in 1957.
  • After serving two terms as Vice President, S Radhakrishnan was elected as the President of India in year 1962. S Radhakrishnan was the first person who worked both as Vice President of India and President of India.
  • From starting of the first Lok Sabha in year 1952, a total of 12 Vice Presidents of India have served so far (till 2016) including the incumbent Vice President Mohammad Hamid Ansari.
  • Out of the 12 Vice Presidents, 7 were elevated and elected for the post of President of India. The remaining five Vice Presidents are –  Gopal Swarup Pathak, B D Jatti, Mohammad Hidayatullah, Krishan Kant, Bhairon Singh Shekhawat.
  • There are only two Vice Presidents of India who served twice (for consecutive two terms) they are – S Radhakrishnan and Hamid Ansari. Hamid Ansari first served as Vice President of India from 2007 to 2012 and then from 2012 to till date (year 2016).
  • The Vice President of India (later became President also) who is known as great thinker, scholar, philosopher, and known for his profound knowledge of Hindu Culture who also represented India at UNESCO – S Radhakrishnan.
  • There are two Vice Presidents of India who were bureaucrats and not politician by career. Both of them started their career in IFS (Indian Foreign Services). These two Vice Presidents are – K. R. Narayanan and Hamid Ansari.
  • The only Vice President of India who married a foreign national – K R Narayanan. While he was working as IFS Officer he married Ma Tint Tint, a Burmese national. She change her name to Usha Narayanan later.
  • The only Vice President who worked earlier as Chief Minister of a state, Cabinet minister and also served as President of Indian National Congress – Shankar Dayal Sharma.
  • The only Vice President who belonged to BJP – Bhairon Singh Shekhawat.
  • Vice Presidents of India who belonged to Congress – V V Giri, B D Jatti, Shankar Dayal Sharma, R Venkatraman, Krishan Kant.
  • Vice Presidents of India who didn’t belonged to any political party – S Radhakrishnan, Mohammad Hidayatullah, Gopal Swarup Pathak, Zakir Hussain.
  • Vice Presidents of India who were lawyers by profession – Gopal Swarup Pathak, Mohammad Hidayatullah, R Venkatraman.
  • The only Vice President (later became President) who was a member of Constituent Assembly that drafted Constitution – R Venkatraman.
  • Vice President of India who was co founder of Jamia Millia Islamia, a national Muslim University – Zakir Hussain. Zakir Hussain also served as Vice Chancellor of AMU (Aligarh Muslim University).
  • The only Vice President who fought the election for the post of President but lost – Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. He fought the election for President against Pratibha Patil.

The complete list of Vice-Presidents of India includes the persons sworn into the office as Vice-President of India following the adoption of the Constitution of India in 1950.

Vice-President Took office Left office President
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu 11-Aug-2017 Incumbent Ram Nath Kovind
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11-Aug-2007 10-Aug-2007 Pratibha Patil
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19-Aug-02 21-Jul-07 A.P. J. Abdul Kalam
Krishan Kant 21-Aug-97 27-Jul-02 Kocheril Raman Narayanan
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 21-Aug-92 24-Jul-97 Shankar Dayal Sharma
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3-Sep-87 24-Jul-92 Ramaswamy Venkataraman
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 31-Aug-84 27-Jul-87 Giani Zail Singh
Muhammad Hidayat Ullah 31-Aug-79 30-Aug-84 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Basappa Danappa Jatti 31-Aug-74 30-Aug-79 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31-Aug-69 30-Aug-74 Varahagiri Venkata Giri
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 13-May-67 3-May-69 Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain 13-May-62 12-May-67 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13-May-52 12-May-62 Rajendra Prasad
4.25 avg. rating (83% score) - 8 votes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.