Winners of ICC Twenty20 World Cup

ICC Twenty20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC World Twenty20 is a international tournament of Twenty20 cricket organised by International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament currently consists of 16 teams, comprising all ten ICC full members and 6 other associate or affiliate members chosen through the World Twenty20 Qualifier. The event has generally been held every two years, although there is a four-year gap between the next two scheduled tournaments (2016 in India and 2020 in Australia). All matches played are accorded Twenty20 International status.

ICC Twenty20 World Cup Facts:

  • First ICC Twenty20 was held at South Africa in 2007.
  • The first century hit by West Indies Opener Chris Gayle (117) Against South Africa at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg in 2007.
  • First Wicket of ICC T20 World Cup taken by Indian pacer R P Singh.
  • India won the first tournament of ICC World Twenty20.
  • Fastest fifty of hit by Indian batsmen Yuvraj Singh in 12 balls against England at Durban in 2007.
  • Brett Lee claimed the first hat-trick in Twenty20 internationals.
  • Highest Score by a team made by Sri Lanka (260/6) against Kenya at Johannesburg in 2007.

Find below the table of International Cricket Council World Twenty20 World Cup list since 2007 first tournament.

Year Host Final Venue Winner Runner-up Man of the Series
2007 South Africa Johannesburg India Pakistan Shahid Afridi
2009 England London Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan
2010 West Indies Bridgetown England Australia Pietersen
2012 Sri Lanka Colombo West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson
2014 Bangladesh Dhaka Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli
2016 India Kolkata West Indies England Virat Kohli

ICC T-20 Cricket World Cups Brief:

The first ICC T-20 cricket world cup held in South Africa in September (11-24), 2007. Inaugural match was played between the host Africa and West Indies. The final match was played at Wanderers stadium in Johannesburg, in which India thrashed Pakistan by 5 runs and clinched the first T-20 world cup trophy.

In the second world cup, which was played in England in 2009, Pakistan emerge winners beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final in London on June 21.

In the third world cup of 2010, England clinched the cup, defeating Australia by 7 wickets in the final at Bridgetown in Barbados (West Indies) on May 16. In this series Mahela Jaywardhane (Sri Lanka) scored most 302 runs and Dirck Nence took the most 14 wickets, while Kevin Peterson (England) won the Man of the series title.

The fourth ICC T-20 world cup in the year 2012 was hosted by Sri Lanka. The final match was played between Sri Lanka and West Indies. In this match West Indies won by 38 runs on October 7. First time 12 teams participated in this world cup.

The fifth ICC T-20 world cup hosted by Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6 in 2014 year. Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets by defeating India.

The sixth ICC T-20 world cup hosted by India in 2016 year. West Indies won by 4 wickets defeating England.

5.00 avg. rating (87% score) - 1 vote

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.